We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lean About the Kiwi ”

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$13.94*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

They were feed a two week old kiwi chick and explains about their conservation efforts and releasing birds into the wild ready to defend themselves and increase the survival rate.

A good afternoon well spent.

Thank AlanBurrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha and it is great to hear that you felt you had a great afternoon out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Took the family here over the x-mas break. Had torrential rain but there was enough to do inside including great cafe, talk on tuatara and kiwi, interactive stuff for the kids. The staff lady in charge of the kiwi was a bit too military for us (shouting at people to be quiet?! while we cued to watch the kiwi) and outside it could of been helpful to let you know what cages were empty rather than us walking around in the pooring rain to find mostly empty cages but all up it was still worth it.

Thank STUMAN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review - we certainly have had a poor summer for weather but luckily our birds don't seem to mind the wet as much as we do. Sorry about the shouting - sometimes it's very hard to get through that in order for the kiwi to remain calm at the feeding, minimal noise is important. We'll certainly give the feedback to the team though on the tone of their delivery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Of couse we had to go see the famous albino kiwi (manukura) and it was the best 'first time seeing a kiwi' experience ever! The lovely lady at the reception offered to charge us $40 instead of the usual $28 per adult and although it was only a small saving, every bit counts. The staff there are so lovely and kind and don't mind telling you a bit about kiwis and other interesting facts about the park and new zealand wildlife. Would definetly recommend to anyone!

Thank KitanaRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thanks for writing a review of PUkaha, much appreciated. The team here are very passionate about their work and the animals in their care and it's great that you had such a lovely time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We visted Pukaka Mt Bruce, Wairarapa sanctuary for the third time last week and every time we are amazed at the wonderful cheeky Kaka and our beautiful white Kiwi Manukura. Plan a visit soon... it is a beautiful place. Quiet walks through native bush, education talks, so much wonderful birdlife, a lovely cafe and wonderful friendly staff.

Thank BrendaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Wonderful that on your third visit you are still getting as much enjoyment. Our kaka certainly are cheeky and so much fun to watch. thank you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My husband and I visited on our way to Wellington and even though we got there late on a dreary day, it was worth the time we spent there. Staff and volunteers were extremely helpful and the unique wildlife was truly spectacular. The beautiful kokako bird even seemed to think one of the volunteers (Martin) was his family and came right up to the fence to be fed by him. I can't say enough good things about the experience we had there. I highly recommend going.

Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha and for your recommendation. We really appreciate your comments and its lovely to hear that you enjoyed meeting Kahurangi, our resident kokako. She is a delight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing