We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
47
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We were told about this Historic 1880s Homestead,it is a must stay if you are in Masterton area.
Elizabeth met us with a warm welcome and afternoon tea.
This is a lovely spot to take time out and smell the roses,
It truly is a Rural Retreat.
The rooms are beautifully furnished, very comfortable and peaceful atmosphere.
We highly recommend LLandaff, it's truly a gem of the north island.
We look forward to returning.

J&J Allan

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 52jma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

This is a comfortable Country Reteat with class. The 135 year old homestead, situated on the outskirts of Masterton, has been elegantly restored and is surrounded by a beautiful historic garden.
The hosts Elizabeth and Robin are very welcoming and genuine. They enjoy sharing their farm and its antique treasures with their guests.
Their cooked breakfast was delicious with homemade jams e.g. kiwi fruit and ginger and preserves grown on their land.
This property is also an ideal wedding venue or place for special events.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bronwynr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We only found Llandaff thanks to Trip Advisor & other positive rave reviews - so I'm happy to report everything was up to expectations! Elizabeth greeted us warmly on arrival & sat down with us for a cup of tea in the traditional Lounge, filled with lovely antiques & period furniture. Our room was spacious, clean, well-appointed & the bed was comfortable.

You wake up to the sounds of numerous resident Tui's & views of the established gardens & farmland through sash windows. Nice to see the flock of resident white doves/pigeons flying around too. Being Spring, we loved all the daffodils up the driveway, bottle-feeding lambs, photographing Alpacas & statues in the garden walks.

Breakfast included a good range of cereal &, fruit, toast & spreads, followed by a nicely-cooked plate of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes & a hash brown. Plunger coffee & orange juice. All tastefully laid out on Willow-pattern china, in the bay-window of the ornate Dining room.

We chose to dine-in for our 15th Wedding Anniversary, and had a beautifully-cooked three-course meal: Corn Chowder with Home-made Bread, Roast Lamb with gravy & mint-sauce, followed by lovely Apple-Shortcake & Cream. Elizabeth does all the cooking herself & nothing was too much trouble.

We really enjoyed our two-night stay, and will definitely be returning one day! Highly recommend Llandaff to anyone wanting "time-out" or a romantic getaway. Good value for money too!

Room tip: All upstairs dble rooms have pleasant garden views & attractively decorated with antique/vintage furniture & tasteful soft furnishings.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We were recommended to this B & B by a friend of a friend, and delighted with the accommodation.

The house has been beautifully and lovingly fitted out by the owners. The room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable.

Elizabeth and Robin made us very welcome. Elizabeth cooked a lovely breakfast in the morning. She then gave us a tour round the grounds and outhouses, including showing us the vintage car that has been restored.

The only problem we had was locating the house, as we had neither a sat nav nor an adequate map. We should have done our homework before arriving in Masterton.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed two nights in this lovely quiet Victorian house, which is set in fields just outside Masterton. Hosts Robin and Elizabeth were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our very large ensuite room was clean and beautifully furnished, with a comfortable bed, dressing table, sofa, table and chairs and tea and coffee making facilities. There is a small fridge for guest use in the hall. Although the ensuite shower room was rather cramped, we also had use of the shared next door bathroom, with a claw-foot bath and walk-in shower. Breakfast, cooked by Elizabeth, was good and copious.

The garden is full of interesting features, including a cottage garden, a woodland walk (with statuary), an orchard and vegetable garden and a landscaped lawn in front - all the work of Elizabeth and Colin. Old farm machinery and an old cart are also on display. Alpaca and sheep graze adjoining fields which also belong to the property, and there is also a golden pheasant which visits regularly.

One point worth noting is that Masterton is some way (55km) from Martinborough, the centre of the Wairarapa wine district, and is not well served by good restaurants. The best is probably Farriers, where we ate both the two evenings we were there.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews