We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nattas77
Perth, Australia

Nice spot

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2024via mobile
Stayed for two nights. This region is beautiful with all the bays. Plenty of options for food and groceries close by. The room is clean and has everything you need for a short stay. The staff are lovely and we enjoyed our stay. Thanks for having us.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2024
We love that you had such a wonderful time here, and the small touches we have in place. Yes, we are in a beautiful region - we're very lucky. Take good care and thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review - we truly appreciate it!

Warm wishes,
Sandy & Glen

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    2.5 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      2.0 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Erittäin kauniilla paikalla oleva hotelli sekä pieniä ravintoloita,alueella on myös kauppa.
      • Booking.com
      3.6 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $218
      No prepayment needed
      • Expedia.com
        $218
      • Hotels.com
        $218
      • Tripadvisor
        $218
      0.0 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $155
      Fully refundable
      • Vio.com
      • eDreams
        $110
      • ZenHotels.com
      6.8 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $350
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      6.3 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Enjoy the gardens
      $171
      No prepayment needed
      • Expedia.com
        $178
      • Priceline
      • Hotels.com
        $198
      7.9 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $302
      Fully refundable
      • Tripadvisor
        $232
      • Priceline
      • Hotels.com
        $232
      8.1 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $220
      • Agoda.com
      8.3 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Pic 1
      $175
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
        $175
      • Vio.com
      8.7 km from Whangaparaoa Lodge
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Whangaparaoa
      Reviews (487)
      Filter reviews
      487 results
      Traveller rating
      406
      68
      12
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      406
      68
      12
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews manly beach regional park new zealand small beach one night comfortable room very pleasant stay troy motel accommodation shakespear auckland robes unit
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 487 reviews
      Reviewed 25 February 2024

      All the reviews that I read emphasised the brilliant service and I can only agree. Glen and Sandy have mastered the difficult art of not only being there, ready and willing to help when needed, but also allowing guests space to enjoy their stay. It's a difficult tightrope to walk but they do it perfectly. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, the location is great, the local Italian restaurant superb, and for a bird watcher like me, the nearby Shakespear regional park is a rare opportunity to see native New Zealand bush birds without having to take a boat ride. Highly recommended.

      Room tip: Heavy traffic at rush hour, if possible, avoid trying to get there around 5-6 in the evening.
      Date of stay: January 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank jjwebley
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

      Wow, thanks so much for your amazing review!

      We're thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience during your stay with us. It's wonderful to know that our service stood out to you, and truly appreciate your comments on Sandy's knack for balancing assistance with giving guests space to enjoy their stay. Thanks too for your kind words about our spacious, clean, and comfortable rooms.

      It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the location, Due Amici our fantastic Italian restaurant, and had a chance to explore the beautiful Shakespear Regional Park. Our guests love to observe native New Zealand bush birds without needing to go far.

      Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we’re thrilled we were able to create such special memories for you both.

      Warm wishes,
      Sandy & Glen

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

      We spent our first 7 nights here and were so pleased with our accommodation.
      We stayed in room No.5 - One of 2 wheelchair accessible units, it was spacious with a large very comfortable bed, large TV, very large bathroom with plenty of room to turn in a wheelchair, fold down shower seat. Also a fully equipped kitchenette.
      Close proximity to the local cafes, shops and restaurants (A short 10-15 minute walk).
      Lovely little beach across the road to watch the sunrise.
      Great location for exploring the many local attractions.
      Recommend getting a coffee from Sally’s mobile expresso van ‘Bewitchin Beans’ for your early morning coffee fix
      Super helpful and friendly hosts - Sandy & Glen
      It was also great to meet Troy (Owner of the Lodge) we had some good chats and shared a glass of wine on our last day.
      A truly memorable stay and highly recommended

      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 007_Richard_E
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

      Dear Richard and Lorraine,

      Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing such a glowing review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding experience during your 7-night stay in room No.5.

      It's fantastic to know that you found the accommodation spacious and comfortable, especially with the wheelchair accessibility features like the fold-down shower seat and well-equipped kitchenette. We're delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, being close to local cafes, shops, and restaurants, as well as having a lovely beach just across the road for sunrise views.

      We're so glad that Sandy, Glen, and Troy made your stay even more enjoyable with their super helpful and friendly service. It's always a pleasure to connect with our guests and share moments like enjoying a glass of wine together.

      Thank you for recommending us and for making your stay truly memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience when your travels bring you this way again.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

      This is a very well kept place. We enjoyed our stay in our spacious room, number 14. It has a balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast, and the view of the sunrises. You should have a car if you stay here however we enjoyed walking to Manly where we would often get takeout and bring it back to eat on our balcony. Very nice hot shower with good pressure and very nice toiletries. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. The hosts are lovely. We ordered the breakfast package and they would deliver it to us personally every morning with a smile. They were on hand with tips of things to do. We stayed three nights and kept busy. Our favorite activity was the bioluminescence kayak tour.
      I really appreciated the hotel’s attention to detail to sanitize and clean. Everything was pristine. Would highly recommend this property.

      Room tip: Easy parking
      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Dreamer05860020204
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Troy Clarry, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

      Hello and thank you very much for this wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the room, our beautiful location and all the small touches we have in place to make guests' stays memorable. We hope to see you another time someday!!
      Kind regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

      Sandy & Glen were the perfect hosts at Whangaparāoa Lodge. They answered ALL of our questions. Their recommendations for what to do were wonderful. Great location. Breakfast was yummy😊
      Would highly recommend to anyone in the north Auckland area.

      Room tip: If you like to walk tons to see nearby, especially Shakespear Park
      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Robin W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

      Dear Robin,

      Thank you so much for choosing Whangaparāoa Lodge as the perfect start for your adventure, and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We thoroughly enjoyed having you all here, we had a lot of fun.

      We're thrilled that you found us to have excellent hospitality by answering all your questions and offering recommendations for things to do in the area. It's fantastic to know that you found our location great and enjoyed our popular breakfast during your stay.

      Trust you all enjoyed your time up North too, and hope to welcome you back from the USA on your next adventure!

      Warm wishes,
      Sandy & Glen

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

      Spotless, quiet, comfortable bed. All the amenities. But the best part was Troy. He was delightful. The breakfast that is prepared by him and his wife is amazing. HeyTroy, if you see this can you share a link to the delicious croissants from France. Thank you for all your kindness.

      Date of stay: December 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank chichullo
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Troy Clarry, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

      Hello hello! So lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a great team with us here and I am only the cherry on the top - along with those croissants! We get them from a company locally called Reso Foods. They have the information on their website. Otherwise send me an email and I can share with you the details. Otherwise, thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you another time soon!
      Kind regards
      Troy

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews