We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

TUI lodge is a very nice and very well cared for B&B run by a fabulous couple. Rooms are very spacious with a door to the patio. TV and fridge is in the Common room. Location is off the SH1 in a quiet street but super-close to town Centre with supermarket, restaurant and cafe.

There is a nice river-walk very close to the b&b. Restaurants in Taurangi are good, the options are however a bit limited. Taupo as the next larger city is about 40km.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank udochrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Tui Lodge is a beautiful B&B set in immaculate gardens that attracted lots of native bird life including fan tails and of course, the tui! Ian and Frances are the most amazing hosts - always helping with suggestions when our plans had to be changed (the weather meant the alpine crossing wasn’t possible). Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jingles1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It was great to have you stay and we enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The B&B is very large with a common lounge and a frig and tv. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and all look out onto a 2 acre bountiful garden. Each room has private entry so it feels very quiet. Frances and Ian were the most hospitable hosts I have come across. Ian gave us maps of hiking and walking trails. Frances cooked us fabulous breakfast. They couldn't have been sweeter.

Room tip: I think all rooms are probably good. We had room 2.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travel169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We spent two nights at TUI Lodge. We had a large dark room with no fridge and no TV : everything was in a common room, so you had to get dressed to watch TV. therefore we didn't.
We asked the owner if we could borrow a guide book for the day but we were told that "people usually keep them ! " so we found the answer quite unpleasant.
We didn't feel at home and didn't like the discussion with the owner at breakfast dealing with the financial market !!!
All that for 540 NZD !

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank edithb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

We are sorry there was a misunderstanding regarding borrowing a guide book. I suspect the book was a library book and not replaceable. We have a lot of free information available on the table for guests to take. The discussion re financial was only an opinion on the current common market situation. (I guess we may have difference of opinion on politics from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Tui Lodge was billed as a "purpose built" B&B and I wasn't sure what this meant as this is not a term normally used in the U.S. Basically, in U.S. terminology, it means a custom built house specifically to function as a B&B. The result is rooms that are supremely comfortable,well insulated and therefore quiet, with large en suite bathrooms, private entrances and a nice opening onto the lovely grounds. The large "common room" has facilities for making tea, coffee or enjoying a glass of wine. There is a refrigerator for guests use. Breakfasts could be of the continental type or Frances would do a cooked breakfast if that was preferred.
We found Ian and Frances to be very down to earth,friendly, comfortable to be with and appreciated their suggestions about restaurants and things to do. We did not fish, but suspect that Ian would be a great fishing guide. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and spacious. We saw quail from our room and heard lots of birds. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we enjoyed helping and giving you information .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews