We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Tui Lodge was billed as a "purpose built" B&B and I wasn't sure what this meant as this is not a term normally used in the U.S. Basically, in U.S. terminology, it means a custom built house specifically to function as a B&B. The result is rooms that are supremely comfortable,well insulated and therefore quiet, with large en suite bathrooms, private entrances and a nice opening onto the lovely grounds. The large "common room" has facilities for making tea, coffee or enjoying a glass of wine. There is a refrigerator for guests use. Breakfasts could be of the continental type or Frances would do a cooked breakfast if that was preferred.
We found Ian and Frances to be very down to earth,friendly, comfortable to be with and appreciated their suggestions about restaurants and things to do. We did not fish, but suspect that Ian would be a great fishing guide. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and spacious. We saw quail from our room and heard lots of birds. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we enjoyed helping and giving you information .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, and both were very spacious and tastefully furnished. They had each a big bathroom and private extern access. The location was perfect for us as it was wonderfully quiet in a small street with a beautiful large garden. Supermarket and some restaurants were in easy walking distance. The short distance to Tongariro NP, but also more attractions close by around Lake Taupo were decisive for us to stay in Turangi. This was a very good idea, as we had to wait 2 days for the Tongariro crossing because of bad weather, but found enough other great activities to enjoy the time.
So we liked Tui Lodge very much just as accommodation. But it was so much more! Most of all, we enjoyed the phenomenal hospitality of Frances and Ian! Not only did Frances serve delicious breakfast at the time of our choice (be it 8:30 on a rainy day or 5:30 before Tongariro crossing...!), but they both took all the time in the world to answer our questions, give advice on every possible subject, helped patiently solve our problems concerning bookings, rental car, plan changes, etc. They even let us shower and check out in the late afternoon after the crossing. Thank you so much, Frances and Ian! Sorry that we didn't appreciate your trout fishing expertise fully, but we enjoyed Ian's paintings and gardening results tremendously :-)

Room tip: All rooms are good!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Renate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for your review. We are only glad we could help especially when things do not go to plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Frances and Ian let us into their beatiful home for our 3 nights in late May. Hospitality was boundless. Thank you both. We had stayed in Turangi elsewhere twice before, but researched and decided to stay here at Tui Lodge so that Kim could have a day fly fishing with Ian and us both relax in the house of the angler. Such a good choice.
On the other day we did a guided Tongoriro Crossing walk (not for the faint hearted - it is extreme uphill - with ice picks, crampons and helmets) and our hiking company picked us up at the door of the Lodge and dropped us back 12 hours later. Great.

Our room at Tui Lodge was most spacious and very warm and comfortable, We had unrestricted access to the huge guest lounge area with tea and coffee. Home cooked breakfast was amazing. We commend Frances for her hospitality. This is a great bed and breakfast and even better if you engage Ian for a guided fly fishing experience. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimandCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuilodge, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thanks for your review. We enjoyed your company as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Ian and Francis were great hosts at this beautiful B&B! My husband did some fishing and we also did some fantastic hikes together! Francis and Ian went out of there way to accommodate us! Francis made a cooked to order breakfast each morning and we had some nice appetizers each night. Many things came fresh from the garden! Each room was spacious and had its own entrance. A highlight of our two week trip!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We have just spent two nights at Tui Lodge. Our primary reason for choosing it was that we wanted to go fly fishing near Turangi and Ian is a very experienced and knowledgeable fishing guide. But staying at Tui Lodge was a wonderful experience in and of itself. Our room was lovely, with a very comfortable king bed and modern bathroom. It opened out onto a terrace which overlooked the beautiful large gardens. It was a perfect place to relax after our wonderful day of fishing. France's serves a great breakfast, and both Frances and Ian did everything possible to make our stay with them most enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marilyn241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews