We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$209
No prepayment needed
StayForLong
eDreams
$209
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mike S

Wonderful hosts, excellent room, hot tub in the teeth of a cyclone…quite an experience!

Review of Breakers Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2023via mobile
We stayed at the height of Cyclone Gabrielle. Graham and Lynne were incredible hosts very concerned with our safety and comfort. Updates on weather, a tap on the door with freshly baked savory pie! Absolutely did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible in the face of the worst cyclone in a century.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review
Responded 19 Feb 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we loved chatting with you. We hope your continued stay/travels in NZ were a little less stressful and you enjoyed your travels. Hope you come again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $224
  • Hotels.com
    $182
  • Expedia.com
    $195
0.9 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$265
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa pool
Booking.com
$174
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $174
  • eDreams
    $174
1.3 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$153
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $153
  • Vio.com
    $153
  • eDreams
    $153
1.4 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Unit 2 - King Studio
Booking.com
$174
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Beachside suite, perfect for a couple or small family getaway.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Breakers Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
apartment # 6
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
1.8 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.6 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.1 km from Breakers Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangamata
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
172
62
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
62
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub great pool laundry facilities motel supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2023

Due to the Cyclone that came through we were advised by Civil Defence not to come into the area, the lady at the end of the phone was rude and totally unforgiving only interested in her profit. We wanted to move our dates to later in the year but she said that she wouldn’t be able to on sell the room due to the weather and it cost us full price, over $1650. To a low income family that took us all year to save but totally lost in someone else’s greed, no compassion.
We would not recommend this place if this is their attitude to weather circumstances beyond anyones control.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 68Apollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Unfortunately you booked through Booking.com and booked a Non refundable booking, which is always a cheaper option of booking accommodation but comes with risks. At the time of booking your payment is taken and as such is non refundable. Perhaps next time book direct with whatever Motel you are wanting to stay at and then you can change/alter any booking.
Sorry you did not understand what you were booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2022 via mobile

Basic motel that promises more than it delivers. Cleanliness lacking particularly with poor attention to detail with items such as bathroom extract fab and cords to the TV very dusty.
Used the laundry facilities, dryer didn’t work unless you stood in front of it and held the door closed.
Pool is nice and enjoyed by our kids. Play area not maintained and is dangerous is parts.
Ok overall but expected better from the photos and price albeit was peak season

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Publover2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. At the time you used our guest laundry we did inform you we were waiting on a Maintenance company to fix the drier so you knew that it may not work. Our play area is very well maintained, a lot of it is very new with new equipment and murals, and has been painted and attended to so we take offence to your untrue comment. Our pool is certainly nice and we love to see our guests enjoying it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

Lovely people, great pool, excellent wifi, big comfy bed, handy to everything in town.
Supermarket only a couple of streets away. Happy to stay again and will do. Better value than going to the Gold Coast.

Room tip: Some have spa pools if you request one.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeoffandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our beds are now new so we love that you enjoyed the comfort. The pool certainly is an attraction when the days are hot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2021

Don't ever book here :
Breakers Motel, 318 Hetherington Road, 3620 Whangamata - they say 'fully refundable' deposit but even if you have genuine reasons for cancellation, they keep your full deposit and won't refund !

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank SavvyTravellerSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Hi 'Savvy Traveller'.... if you were to put a name to your review we could give you a response, however to make a remark such as you have and no name is a little cowardice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Great location, walked around the marina and along the beach then back through town with a great coffee. Sat in the sun on the balcony and enjoyed the outlook. Beautifully clean rooms with comfy beds and friendly, helpful owners.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Thank you for your review Sheryl, great that you enjoyed your stay with us and Whangamata's cafes. Hope you return again to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews