We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
147
57
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
57
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub easy walk room was spacious first floor stayed for one night excellent accommodation thoroughly enjoyed our stay two nights fantastic place lovely town short drive well equipped kitchen good size short stay close to town new zealand sky tv
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed one night at this motel as part of our North Island tour. The room was spacious and clean with a great bathroom and a VERY comfortable bed together with a hot tub on the balcony. The staff on site from check in to check out were friendly and readily available to provide advice or information on attractions or eateries in the area. Would definitely recommend this motel to any travellers heading to Whangamata.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing Breakers Motel and your recommendation means a lot. Our rooms are very spacious with a lovely beach vibe decor. We are delighted that you found our new beds very comfortable. Safe travels for the rest of your North Island tour. Ross and Megan Levy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Great motel - checkin guy was so helpful and pleasant. Room priced well with great facilities. Quiet area close to a lovely marina and park. Would definitely stay again. Great sleep, clean and tidy apartment

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
692meganl, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for your kind review. We work hard to provide our valued guests with true kiwi hospitality and service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon Ross and Megan Levy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I stayed three nights in a comfortable and good sized room. The bathroom was good and the whole a good experience.
It is well located with access to a walk along the estuary and eventually a very attractive beach.
The staff were friendly and helpful and my stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlietoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Breakers. The walk past the marina and along the harbour side is beautiful. It is easy to see why we are the "Paradise Coast" and that Whangamata has just been voted New Zealand's best beach. We look forward to hosting you again. Regards Ross & Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Breakers has to be the best place to stay in Whangamata, from the fantastic location, to friendly staff, to beautiful clean rooms. There is nothing to fault about this motel.
Ross greeted me when I arrived, gave me a choice of rooms, showed me to the room and parking. The welcome was true kiwi friendly style. Location is close to town yet lovely and quiet. Rooms are so spacious, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words which are truly appreciated. It means so much to have our service and wonderful facilities recognised in this manner. It was a pleasure meeting you and look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights. A great location in easy walking distance to supermarket, beach and main shops. The owners were away and while trying to be helpful small details could be improved re housekeeping - tea bags not renewed, leaking iron etc

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank richardbP4788DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your review. You are certainly correct about our wonderful location with easy access to the supermarket and beach along with a host of restaurants and cafe's. We have tested the iron and cannot find fault. Our apologies if your tea bags were overlooked in the daily servicing; we would have gladly renewed had we known. Regards Ross & Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews