We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully elegant property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Welland Valley Private Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View of the Welland Valley
Private Garden
Private Car Park
Large patio view 1
Large patio view 2
Over looks the Welland Valley
Dining Room
Kitchen leads to original station stairs
Reception room with Cinema Entertainment System (include 2 sofa beds)
Kingsize bedroom
Double bedroom
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suendavid
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully elegant property”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay in the station. As before everything was spotlessly clean on our arrival and Alex had left a bottle of wine in way of welcome. This is a fabulous place to stay, with spacious accommodation and bags of character, especially the sweeping stairway up to the bedrooms, or rather the platform if you can visualise the original layout. My steam train enthusiast husband was in seventh heaven decanting the port in the ticket office for some local friends of ours, and our dog just Loved all the many varied walks we took ranging from Wakerley woods to the Harringworth viaduct. We loved it so much that we've booked stay number 3 in May!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank uou for your kind words. Look forward to welcoming you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sl7789
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing new year stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over new year with my partner and 2 other couples (25-30 years). We also brought 3 dogs, when we arrived Alexandra was extremly welcoming and also gave a bottle of prosecco,which was drank at the new year and extreamly appriciated! We had a lovely relaxing stay. The photos of the house do not do it justice! All in all there was nothing to complain about and we were all happy this is the place we chose to celebrate new year. it would be a lovely place to visit in the summer with the patio and private garden, which the dogs loved. Would love to visit again!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelongvi...
Katikati, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Characterful building, peaceful location.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a very characterful property with high ceilings, a fabulous staircase that used to lead to the high level railway platform, and a feeling of spaciousness throughout. Although there were just two of us staying for the whole 2 weeks, we did have extended family visiting us on weekends and we comfortably managed to feed 9 and sleep 7.

Although the location is ideal for visiting Stamford, Oakham, Rutland Water and the many other pretty locations in the area, we enjoyed quiet times strolling the many footpaths from the house, including along the adjacent River Welland. It is an easy stroll into Barrowden village, where the Exeter Arms does good food and local beers, and the community shop keeps a reasonable range of groceries etc.

The patio area has a pleasant outlook over fields, and had lots of use during our stay, including bbq's. The small garden is also useful and fully enclosed, and there is ample parking for 4 or 5 cars, again useful when we had visitors.

Owners Alex and Mark were very helpful - we did have a couple of minor maintenance issues crop up and these were dealt with as soon as possible. - and we passed on some comments we hope they found useful. The lack of a freezer (or freezer compartment in the fridge) was the biggest issue given that we did a fair bit of entertaining, and the wi-fi signal was very inconsistent. We also thought that there is huge potential to reflect the heritage of the building with old photos of the station and relevant railway paraphernalia - apparently this is already in hand.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, character
Liked least: Lack of freezer, inconsistent wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the station. In response to your feedback wifi has been upgraded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyJ371
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Visited with my two boys, mother in law and hubby. Beautiful converted station with fabulous high ceilings and a grand staircase. Located in a small village with a shop and swing park church and pub. Only two bedrooms but sleeps 8 with two sofa beds in the lounge. Kitchen fully equipped. Woke to the sound of sheep baaing in a nearby field which was better than being woken by police sirens and traffic as you do in a city! All in all a good find and glad we chose to stay in a private rental property with character rather than in a chain hotel to attend a wedding at nearby Bourne and Stamford. Would recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnicest...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, full of character, well located for a lovely break.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I would recommend staying here to anyone. It is a beautiful house, full of character and well equipped. It provides a great base for sight seeing in the area, but is also great if you want to just stay in and relax.excellent value for money.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing