We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous village hilltop retreat in the lush...”
other travellers have booked this property
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
View at dawn from west bedroom
Master bath
West bedroom (double)
Single bedroom
Patio
Terrace in summer
Ready for dinner
Grape arbor
View from terrace
Walled garden
View of Duomo from garden
16th century staircase
12th century convent in Vicolo compound
View of Barga from countryside
Main entrance to compound
Second (garden) entrance from piazza
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nora D
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous village hilltop retreat in the lush mountains of Tuscany.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week in this lovely house with a group of 5 friends. There was plenty of room for all, with gorgeous views over the town and across the valley to impressive mountain peaks. The grapevine-covered terrace wraps around two sides of the house, with a table for dining. There is a shaded yard for hanging out in the warm sunshine. The house is near the top of the hill just below the town duomo. Barga is a non-touristy village with everything we wanted and needed: great restaurants, friendly bars, wonderful pastry shops and a fascinating history. We especially enjoyed hiking from village to village on old Roman and mill roads as well as smaller trails. We were there during mushroom season and enjoyed fresh porcini from the woods picked by locals. The host has extensive knowledge of the area's history and local amenities which he is happy to share with visitors. He met us at the bus to take us to the property and provided extensive information about how to arrive in the town. Since returning home, we have recommended this rental to everyone we meet and hope to visit again ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rae434
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
“Gracious Host! Beautiful Home! Amazing View!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Staying in Barga and in Frank's home was the highlight of my
trip to Italy. He was a very knowledgeable and gracious host, and our accomodations were beautiful, clean and well-tended. His recommendations for places to eat, things to see
and traveling in Italy were spot on and so helpful. I left with many memories and a desire
to return again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches that the owner offered to make us comfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Paris, France
1 review
“Vicolo del Duomo is a splendid setting for a fun filled reunion with old friends.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in May 2012

The Vicolo del Duomo's existence came by word of mouth. My friends and I had been talking about getting together for a reunion in Italy for years. Although we went back and forth about our location, we all agreed on one criteria, it had to be breathtakingly beautiful. Then I heard quite serendipitously about the beauty of Barga, the Vicolo del Duomo, and the kindness of it's owner, Frank Viviano. We were sold, and off we went. On the first day of our arrival, Frank took us on a little tour of the town, filling us in on it's history and introducing us to local merchants. The village is lovely, but the view from the terrace of Frank's place was magnificent--far better than photos could show. We were so content to stay close to our temporary home and loved having our coffee out there in the morning, and sipping our proseccos at sunset. We were four very happy women, and sometimes we were quite silly, and everything was perfect--culminating into very fond vivd memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the morning and sitting on the terrace with coffee in hand and gazing at the view.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay and live there.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory M
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Beautiful home, breathtaking views!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This home in Barga was all that we hoped for. Very large, well furnished, classy, with a historic Tuscan feel and atmosphere to the place. It's topped off by the large, beautiful wrap-around terrace that sits overlooking this wonderful thousand year old Tuscan hill town. Barga itself is a wonderful, hidden gem: fun, friendly, picturesque beyond belief. It has a slow feel for relaxing but plenty of good restaurants, bars, cafes, and ice cream shops. Barga is a good location for day trips to Pisa, Florence, Lucca, and the beach. Love this place. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace, ample rooms/space, great feel and atmosphere, panoramic views
Liked least: Kitchen is not very big, but adequate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbsy201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here. The location couldn't have been better - right in the heart of the historic part of Barga, close to the bars and restaurants. The house is at the top of the town, near the beautiful Duomo, and has a huge terrace that looks out over the rooftops and out to the hills and mountains in the distance - truly stunning, a perfect spot for many an al fresco meal. The house was very well equipped and comfortable and the owner was very welcoming and helpful with lots of tips on where to go and what to do. There is a very nice public pool nearby if you need a swim, and we also did a trip to the coast, which wasn't too far at all. But there is so much more to do here - walks, visiting picturesque villages, lakes, fortresses, adventure parks, nature reserves, it's even close enough to do a day trip to Florence. We definitely intend to return!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing