We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, comfortable, relaxing... not enough...”
other travellers have booked this property
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Barga's Cathedral (Duomo) view through olive grove to Capanno
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Barga's Cathedral (Duomo)
view through olive grove to Capanno
bellavista entrance
bellavista room
Bellavista table and chairs
bellavista room
bellavista kitchenette
Bellavista terrace
stairs to Panoramica
Panoramica room
panoramica room
panoramica room
Panoramica room entrance and view
entrance Tavernetta room
Tavernetta room
Tavernetta room kitchenette
Tavernetta room
tavernetta terrace & Pania
Main house terrace: breakfast served here
La Serra di Barga seen from the Cathedral
view from Bellavista terrace (spring)
view from Bellavista terrace (winter)
view towards Fornacetta and Pania
vinyards below our B&B and Duomo
shepherd passing in front of our B&B
Abetaia thisle
Calomini's hermitage
hiking near Capanne di Careggine
carsic chasm near Capanne di Careggine
hiking on Mount Sumbra
hiking near Mt Sumbra
hiking above lago di Vagli
view from Mount Palodina towards Trassilico
Monte Procinto (the Panettone)
blueberry meadows near San Pellegrino(September)
sunset Mt Sumbra
main Gate to historic Barga (Porta Reale)
laundry in historic center of Barga
Barga's municipal swimming pool
cooking course at La Serra
snow at La Serra
La Serra B&B  sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RWJr100
Franklin
1 review
“Charming, comfortable, relaxing... not enough superlatives to describe it well enough.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Words cannot express the wonderful time we had in this charming bed and breakfast this summer. From the amazing breakfasts to the comfortable and well-appointed apartment, the place was BETTER than the photos (and how many times does that happen?). We did not have the pleasure of meeting Marijke since she was out of town, but Pietro was an amazing host and seemed to really understand how to treat guests, give us space when we needed it, and give us advice on interesting places to visit as needed. Barga is such a charming town set away from the main Tuscany throngs. If you are looking for a truly relaxing and leisurely vacation in a place that is not overly touristy and isn't overrun (yet) by us Americans, this is a great choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you Rickie for these wonderful words. I also enjoyed getting to know you both! Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R
1 review
“The best ever Italy experience!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our first trip to Italy. Barga was not familiar to us, but it and the surrounding region looked very appealing. We booked a full week at La Serra. Everything about our stay there was just perfect. Pietro and his wife Marike were wonderful and friendly hosts, our rooms in the Bellavista were clean, comfortable and with modern conveniences, the view from our terrace overlooking Barga was magical, the food was wonderful (especially the local cheeses), and the rural setting gave us quiet nights and a convenient twenty-minute walk into the heart of the old city. Pietro is an excellent Italian language teacher, and he knows the local walking and hiking trails very well. We stayed at several other B&B's and monasteries in Tuscany, but Pietro and Marike provided us with our very best experience in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
You've been wonderful guests, Steve, and I am so glad you could benefit from the BELCANTO festival in Barga, it was the first year it took place and it looks like it will become a tradition for early September from now on!
And you've been a wonderful pupil, Galina!
pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sajohnsto...
Bury st edmunds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breath taking views, warm and friendly hosts, great breakfast”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent a week here in the Tavernetta room, it was a little glimpse of heaven, ! Stunning views from our private terrace, could of stayed there all day in the sun just watching the changing weather patterns, lovely room, and the breakfast healthy and imaginative.
Barga was lovely old and quaint with some good restaurants, and icecream shops! Lucca only 40 minutes away, worth a visit too, Florence only a couple of hours on the train. Pietro was very well informed and was able to help us with planning our trips out and about. We walked into Barga in the evening using a path off the road, only 20 minutes, you need a torch on the way back! This is a great place to get away from the busyness of life and unwind and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and the view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Thank you Sarah for this incredible review! I am not sure we deserve such a marvelous comment! Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May W
1 review
“Wish we were there right now!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay was delightful, beginning with a warm welcome from Pietro and an impeccable view of Barga. Barga in itself is a quintessential Italian town, with lots of charm and character. The location of La Serra allowed us to 'getaway' from the busier neighbouring towns and relax in sun. A perfect stay if you're looking for tranquillity and good food.

The property has been well renovated and includes all the essentials to live comfortably during your stay. What was most impressive was the atmosphere and sense of 'home' that both Pietro and Marijkey created for us and their other guests. Unique.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thank you May for these lovely words! you've been wonderful guests! pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilaryT21...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first trip to Barga and and though we would like to keep La Serra di Barga a secret we feel we should sing its praises from the rooftops!
Our week in Bellavista was over all too quickly and we never tired of soaking up its spectacular panoramic views or its cosy ambience.
Barga town is only a delightful walk away where delicious food and very drinkable wine is to be had!
However, as many other reviewers have said, the holiday was made complete by the loveliest hosts we have had anywhere :-)
Suffice to say we can't wait to return!
Hilary & David T.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
I am really touched by such wonderful words, Hillary! And we were touched by such wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing