We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience.

A wonderful experience that broadens and deepens your knowledge of Maori and local culture. Highly... read more

Reviewed 26 April 2021
georginasisam
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
So informative

Can’t speak highly enough of the staff and the tour I did at ‘Mataatua’ today. I’m not a foreign... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2021
Marvy2
,
Tokoroa, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 134 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Whakatane
from US$126.77
More Info
from US$109.78
More Info
from US$178.84
More Info
from US$119.69
More Info
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
109
19
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
19
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light show brownie local culture visiting whakatane couple of hours amazing experience wharenui history visitors tino pai kumara knowledge nz audio whanau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2021

We booked online for a 10:00 am tour on Saturday. When we got there there was nobody else there and the place was totally locked up.

Not a good look!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Latimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

A wonderful experience that broadens and deepens your knowledge of Maori and local culture. Highly recommend for anyone visiting Whakatane. Excellent hosts and guides. Welcoming, authentic, knowledgeable, interesting and talented. I wish all tours were like this one!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank georginasisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

Can’t speak highly enough of the staff and the tour I did at ‘Mataatua’ today. I’m not a foreign tourist - so was seeing it from a ‘Kiwi ‘point of view. The staff were friendly and welcoming - the tour itself was well worth the $, interesting and informative, I knew so much more about the early Maori history of the area and of the wharenui itself by the end of it. The light show is just amazing and the snack at the end delicious.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank Marvy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

We arrived with no booking and were the only people in the visitor centre which is beautifully laid out with helpful and knowledgeable staff available but never pushy.
We booked the tour later that day and found when we got back there were just the two of us. Thought it might be a bit awkward but the genuine welcome and the personality of the guide made it such a lovely experience.
Add the way the history is presented, the audio visual history, the bread, cake and tea, the complete lack of commerciality and the beauty of the house and you have the perfect way to spend a couple of hours.
We didn't go to any other Maori experiences while in NZ, why go somewhere inferior after this?

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2020

This is a spectacular wharenui and what an amazing tour to match. The tangata whenua were so warm and welcoming. The culture, the history and the learning about this wharenui and the tangata whenua is just amazing. I Highly recommend to visit this beautiful, historic one of a kind place. I honestly can't stop thinking about what a spectacular amazing place is it.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Vee6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews