We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience.

A wonderful experience that broadens and deepens your knowledge of Maori and local culture. Highly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
georginasisam
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
So informative

Can’t speak highly enough of the staff and the tour I did at ‘Mataatua’ today. I’m not a foreign... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2021
Marvy2
,
Tokoroa, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 132 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Whakatane
from US$137.47
More Info
from US$183.29
More Info
from US$116.16
More Info
from US$118.38
More Info
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
108
19
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
19
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light show maori experience local culture fried bread worth taking the time brownie visiting whakatane guided tour couple of hours great guide amazing experience wharenui carvings awa maras history video
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

If you are looking to learn more about the culture and history of the Maori people this spectacular tour will leave you speechless. I had no idea what to expect, and while I won’t share everything I learned I can tell you the light show was one of the highlights of the experience. The people who work there are so genuine and authentic - I felt completely welcomed into their home. Also, if you pick the longer tour (I recommend it) know that they will feed you a light snack at the end of the tour. Culturally significant and historically important, this was my favorite thing to do in Whakatane.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank 515nicoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataatua, Guest Relations Manager at Mataatua: The House That Came Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Kia ora 515nicoleg,

Thanks so much for your kind words, we're really humbled you thought so much of the time you spent with us. Our team here feel very privileged to be able to share the uniqueness of our Ngāti Awa culture with visitors, and it's awesome to know our commitment to always be genuine and authentic is appreciated and valued.

Thank you again for the wonderful compliments and we hope to see you again at Mataatua one day!

Ngā mihi mahana

The whānau @ Mataatua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

Time constraints stopped us doing the tour but we managed the short video (highly interesting) and had a look around the entry area. Lovely staff there - all very friendly and helpful. Next time we'll definitely do the tour - have been on a number of Marae in the past and this one looks to have an extra reason for visiting. Highly recommend

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataatua, Guest Relations Manager at Mataatua: The House That Came Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Kia ora Grant N,

Sorry for not responding earlier, but we just wanted to thank you for your awesome feedback. Although you didn't get time to do one of the experiences, we're pleased to know you enjoyed the video and were well looked after while you were there.

We hope to see you back here at Mataatua one day, but in the mean time: kia haumaru te hāere e hoa - travel safe my friend!

Ngā mihi mahana

The whānau @ Mataatua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Not knowing what to expect we turned up and had a look, having just missed the 10.00am guided tour we returned for the 12.00 midday one.
Fantastic experience and great guide the carvings are astounding and the light show fantastic - would recommend as worth taking the time - we even got Tea, Brownies and traditional Fried Bread at the end.

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank 502Bob_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataatua, Guest Relations Manager at Mataatua: The House That Came Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Kia ora 502Bob_H!

Thanks so much for taking time to let us know how much you enjoyed the experience! I'm sure our ancestors who etched their stories into those carvings in the 1870s will be pleased to hear how much their works amazed you!

Ngā mihi mahana

Te whānau @ Mataatua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

this is a very sacred whare, only took photos from the outside, as you will need to be escorted onto the premises, most likely a powhiri, Great to see the Ngati awa tangata have got their whare back, Very special to see this in Whakatane

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Mayana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataatua, Guest Relations Manager at Mataatua: The House That Came Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Kia ora Mayana D,

Tēnā koe i wāu nā mihi mai ki a mātou o Ngāti Awa.

Thanks for your kind words. We're so fortunate to have Mataatua back and we're grateful for the many hours successive leaders of our iwi tirelessly and selflessly dedicated to the fight to have the house of our ancestors returned. E kore e mimiti te puna mihi kia rātou!

Thanks again for your warm compliments and we hope to one day host you at Mataatua if you ever return to Whakatāne.

Ngā mihi mahana

Te Whānau @ Mataatua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

Recommended. Well organized and presented, with the best sound and light show we have seen. A good way to gain a little insight into Maori history and culture.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Carryonupthekhyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mataatua, Guest Relations Manager at Mataatua: The House That Came Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Kia ora Carryonupthekhyber,

Thanks for your kind words and compliments, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. We're very proud of Hiko: Legends Carved in Light, the Mataatua digital spectacle, and it's great to know it's still winning fans, as it has done since day one.

Thanks again and kia haumaru te hāere - travel safe!

Ngā mihi mahana

Te Whānau @ Mataatua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews