We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Island Tours - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Moutohora: Island Sanctuary Five Stars

I would like to say a special thank you to our Captain Dave for his manaaki and aroha towards my... read more

Reviewed 31 January 2023
Erehi
Fantastic Moutohora

We went on a fabulous trip to Moutohora (Whale Island) today. The crew were fantastic, very... read more

Reviewed 18 April 2021
hannahbI1019FC
via mobile
Read all 1,102 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveller rating
924
133
18
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
924
133
18
10
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Great and informative walk around island.
We were very lucky with the weather, and kids were able to swim in the ocean off the boat.
We saw a school of dolphins, seals and bird life.
The staff were informative, helpful and friendly.
Awesome experience! Defiantly would recommend.

Thank Glock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Many thanks for your review and recommendation, we have had some stunning days here during summer and it was awesome to hear you experienced one of them with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

So amazing to go to a live marine volcano. Quite a long trip there for the kids - would recommend only doing it in calm conditions and with well behaved kids who can follow institutions.

Thank KiwiAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed the day. Our recommended minimum age for the tour is 8 years old – we find that most children thoroughly enjoy the day out as it provides an educational aspect as well as a huge adventure for them! You are right to point out that it is a big day for kids and parents/caregivers do need to keep this in mind when planning a trip with us, it is extremely important that children that come on the trip with us are able to follow instructions well due to safety issues. There are activity packs for children available for sale in our gift shop where you check in that provide some entertainment for the boat journey and children are most welcome to bring devices onto the boat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We went in a group of 7 and had a fantastic time, great boat trip out, an awsome tour guide and a great skipper for the boat trip, well worth going

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank slybacon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Thanks for the great feedback. It is always good to see Eastern Bay of Plenty locals taking the chance to see White Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

White Island Tours trip to the White Island active volcano is excellent - well organised, great staff, the trip over accompanied by gamboling dolphins is fab, and the opportunity to explore the volcano and learn about its geological and human history (including changes the guides have experienced first hand) is fascinating. Care is taken with safety including having (and using) gas masks.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank travelnz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Many thanks for such a positive review of your experience with us. It is so awesome for us to hear comments such as yours and we really appreciate you taking the time to review and share your experience with others. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Whakatane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

what an amazing day had with these guys, very professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and also they were all very knowledgeable about both the volcano, island & all the wildlife on the way & back! Thank you guys, keep up the great work! X

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Donnapyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us. I hope the rest of your travels in NZ were as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews