We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Island Tours - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Moutohora: Island Sanctuary Five Stars

I would like to say a special thank you to our Captain Dave for his manaaki and aroha towards my... read more

Reviewed 31 January 2023
Erehi
Fantastic Moutohora

We went on a fabulous trip to Moutohora (Whale Island) today. The crew were fantastic, very... read more

Reviewed 18 April 2021
hannahbI1019FC
via mobile
Read all 1,102 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveller rating
924
133
18
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
924
133
18
10
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Take your camera, as I just took over 100 photos of this awesome island. Dolphins entertained us on the boat trip. Then the amazing sulphuric landscape took our breathe away. Dramatic masks made for a surreal experience.

Thank JuneC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Hi June,
Thank you for the great review you have given us – great advice about the camera, it is certainly a must with all the amazing things you’ll encounter on our tour. We really enjoying viewing images our visitors capture on their day out with us so if you have any images you would like to share please feel free to send them through or post to our Facebook page! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Great tour guides helped us on the island. Gear is provided (gaz mask and hard hat) which you'll be happy to have the gaz mask. , wonderful sights on the island. Lunch included on the way back. Great boat ride 1.5hrs one way (be careful for sea sickness). We saw a pod of daulphins on the way there! Bonus!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Cedrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Hi Cedrick,
Many thanks for your review, yes – some days the gas masks are very handy to have! Awesome that you saw dolphins on your trip they are always amazing to watch and definitely a bonus. We hope you had a great time during the rest of your travels in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We thoroughly recommend this tour, comfortable smooth ride on the boat (for us anyway although it can obviously get rough), sealife seen and enjoyed along the way, informative guided walk and yummy lunch. White Island is NZ's only active volcano, and definitely worth making the effort for. Do it!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Hi Robert
Thank you for taking the time to review and for recommending our tour. We’re pleased that enjoyed the experience with us and hoped you enjoyed the rest of your time in Whakatane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

This trip was excellent. The whole process was very well organised. The staff were very efficient and looked very smart on board. There was good attention to safety and the guides were very knowledgeable. There was a lot of sea sickness on the journey to the island, but the staff are obviously used to dealing with this! We saw lots of dolphins from the boat and the boat slowed down so as we could spend some time watching them. The lunch provided was very good. It included a sandwich, homemade cake, fruit, a chocolate bar and an oat slice along with a bottle of water. The day was enjoyable, however the one disappointment is that the website advertises a target departure time of 9:15. We expected this to move, perhaps up to an hour. However when the tour company confirmed our check in time it was 7:15am! We had to travel over an hour to Whakatane - so we decided to cancel the trip. When we rang to cancel they put us on a boat leaving at 9am - which was what we booked. It is a real shame that we were not given an option regarding the time and that we had to decide to cancel in order to get the departure at the time we booked.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank KRLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Hi Louise,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit to White Island. Apologies for the inconvenience caused by the departure time on the day of your tour, while we do aim for a 9.15am departure this is a moving target as there are many factors that need to be taken into account such as tides, sea conditions, weather and passenger numbers. On the day you joined our visit we had a boat departing at 8am and a second boat at 9am. When we contact each passenger the night prior we do advise that check-in commences 45 minutes prior to departure and this is why you were told 7.15am. As a result of your feedback I have updated our website to make the check-in time frame clearer. Where possible we also put those that are travelling from the furthest distance on a later boat (if there is one) in order to allow them time to get to Whakatane. I’m really pleased that it all worked out for you in the end and that you had an enjoyable trip. I hope the rest of your travels went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

I went on the tour with my partner. Second trip for me, first time for him. He's still buzzing about it. Says it is one of the most incredible things he has done.

The crew were fantastic. We were lucky to be in the half of the boat that did NOT get seasick, but we're impressed by how the crew managed those that did.

The tour of the island was incredible. I was thankful for the gas mask as the steam stung my nose and throat a bit. The guides were very funny and informative (thanks Matta and Amy).

On the trip to the island we stopped to enjoy a pod of dolphins. On the trip back we stopped to enjoy a pod of pilot whales. This was an added bonus!

We're ready to come back again!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank julienandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Wow thanks for the fantastic review! It’s always a buzz for us to get people back out to the Island who have been before and it’s awesome you brought your partner along, I’m glad he enjoyed it as much as you did. We’ll be sure to pass your comments onto the crew and let them know your praises. Marine life encounters on the trips is as you mentioned are an added bonus for passengers and crew alike! We can’t guarantee we’ll see them on every trip but if they are spotted on our way to and from the Island you can be sure we will stop and hang out for a while! There’s something special about exploring the inner crater of an active volcano and on the same day viewing dolphins and whales! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you both on your next visit to White Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews