We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$75
Priceline
eDreamsUS$75
Agoda.comUS$75
FindHotelUS$75
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
39
37
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
37
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great owners family room three nights a great place to stay bbq motel town milk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Very high standard of cleanliness. Very comfortable and a great place to stay.
Arrived late and everything was ready for us. Not the top end of motels in terms of price but we had no issues with staying there. Would use again if in Whakatane
Close to centre of town and very convenient

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 718alanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

Had a family weekend / event in Whakatane so booked 3 rooms..
I truely want to say how excellent the staff & owners were. We appreciated they made a family room available for our 4 teens that were travelling With us . However on arrival this motel Looks & feels depressing - my folks were With me & I felt uncomfortable that I had booked it- however my parents kindly agreed it was okay to stay -we do not at all have issues With older or dated motels but first reflections are that it needs a sweep up & definitely carpets cleaned asap.
I did not at any stage take my shoes off during the stay the carpets desperately need a clean or update. However the sheets , bedding showers & toilets were really clean but furniture in all rooms dirty & we did not sit on them.

Good location , clean sheets & excellent staff just a shame as we did not feel comfortable in the rooms .
Good cheaper style motel. Wouldn’t stay again unless a bit of an update & carpets cleaned .

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank debsdeane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Grounds well kept, room had separate toilet to shower, no air conditioning but did supply big standing fan in the room, great outdoor seating area for a bbq.

Only downfall was murky pool, they only emptied the bin but didn't top up coffee or milk so we had to get our own because we came back late, also had stay in families living at the motel.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Visited Whakatane with friends and stayed in the Cortez Motel for three nights. Very clean and tidy. Good service and very friendly staff who made sure we had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatfriendstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

This place was great! Family of 4. 2 adults and 2 small children. We got the superior family room specifically for the spa bath for the kids. This room had a double bed and a single in the "lounge" and the same in the bedroom. Nice sized room, not overly big but big enough. Table and 4 chairs. Plus a bench with 2 barstools.
Flatscreen with basic sky channels. 2 heaters but the rooms are well insulated so dont need them all that much. The kitchenette is a bit dated but functional. No stove but they have a microwave and a cooktop. The beds are comfy enough, not plush but not hard. The bathroom is quite big, lots of space. The spa bath is huge! It was perfect. It's quite quiet. Couldnt really hear much going on outside. Theres a pool (looks clean and still being filtered even though it's the middle of winter which is great.) and a bbq area in the courtyard.
The owner/guy on reception was great. Seemed genuinely friendly which gave me confidence in the place before even getting to the room. And above all else!! THIS PLACE IS CLEAN!! The sheets, new towels, the bath and toilet. The cutlery, the table, the carpet. CLEAN! It's a cheap motel with everything you need and nicer than most in its price range. Very happy with our stay and will most definitely be happy to stay here again. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank haze315
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews