We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An interesting museum.

A must see for all aviation buffs, and all interested people. A good collection but not enough... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2019
rarpos
,
Melbourne, Australia
Small but good quality aviation museum - great for kids!

Really pleased we visited - and even my 8yr old lad who was not keen on the idea originally had a... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
PeteHaigh-NZ
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
24
20
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
20
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple of hours aviation museum on display main hanger jet fighter gift shop new zealand cockpit tauranga aircraft exhibits catalina volunteers skyhawk information military cafe
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Classic flyers is set up for children.
The cafe has kid appropriate menu items.
$10/adult but free for under 5s.
Little planes for riding in, great playground attached to cafe for easy supervision and lots of things the kids are allowed to touch/sit in.
A practical hands-on museum.
I enjoyed sitting in the fighter too and pretending I was a real top gun!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Kiwitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Took friends of ours who are visiting us from the UK to Classic Flyers,
What a fantastic time we had. My friend is ex RAF, and has a great interest in anything vintage aircraft. We found the museum to be really well set out, and the numerous volunteers had a vast amount of knowledge of the aircraft and other things that were exhibited.
There is also a great restaurant with really good well priced food.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank N3908HSDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Whether you are senior enough to recall when these planes were in service, young enough to enjoy putting on a flight suit and climbing in a cockpit, or both you will enjoy this museum. To enter you pass through a lovely cafe and gift shop. The admission fee was quite reasonable. There are three hangers of aircraft- well-displayed with informative signage. Two aircraft are set up to walk through- A de Havilland Heron and a Catalina PBY 5a. A third aircraft allows one to sit in the cockpit.

Take care walking around as this is an operational airport. As such one can arrange to ride in a biplane for hire. Just take care to stay on the correct side of any roped-off areas.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank ebinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

Mr 2 year old had a great time here checking out the planes & climbing into the planes that had the open cock pits. They also had some little ride on plane carts that are fun for kids to play on. It has a nice balance of indoor and outdoor things to look at and I think it's a place we'll come back to as the kids will appreciate it more as they get a bit bigger. There's also a cafe which adds another element and a great spot to stop for a coffee or lunch.

Thank FifiL241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We stopped at the Classic Flyers Cafe to have a quick bite to eat as I had heard about it from a mate, and while we were there the wife suggested we go for a tour of the museum as we are both self confessed plane nuts.

It was a great experience, especially seeing all the old planes and getting up close and personal with them. We thought we would spend a pleasant 20 or so minutes there, we ended up spending over a hour. Well worth the time.

I recommend it to everyone with kids, as you are able to sit in quite a few of them and pretend to be a pilot (I didn't because the cockpits have obviously shrunk over the years, LOL)

Stop and have a meal at the cafe as well...

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank paw0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews