We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David L

Beautiful Coromandel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2023via mobile
Immaculate clean rooms, beautiful views, private outdoor area, lovely hosts. We explored Coromandel and hiked to Wyuna Bay from here. Perfect place to have a base, November was way busier than expected so book ahead. There’s a nice bush walk right next door to get your day underway and breakfast is available.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Book ahead.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Harbour View Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $259
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
nice to eat outside in summer
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.1 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.7 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coromandel Cottage
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $212
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Happiness cabin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Harbour View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Coromandel
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
184
92
24
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
184
92
24
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coromandel town main room comfortable chairs stove top stunning views peace and quiet stayed longer friendly owners main town would definitely stay here again stayed here for one night queen bed deck motel sunset unit hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2023 via mobile

They are very large rooms. A small site of only about 7 units. Totally clean and comfortable. Very well supplied. Older style of place but has it all. Hosts were very helpful.
No food on site but they will make up breakfast packs on request.
We were there during a storm after Gabriel and everything was fine.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank humbleperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2023

If you are going to get caught in a severe weather event in Coromandel (as we were), then this was the place to be. An older style motel unit to be sure (decor wise), it was comfortable, spacious with stunning views over the harbour (weather permitting). We would love to come back another time when NZ is not experiencing a 1 in 100 year downpour. Out unit had a well appointed kitchen (sans oven), so were able to cook for ourselves rather than having to go out all the time. That said, there are excellent cafes and restaurants not far down the road. We would have loved to use the deck and its comfortable chairs more had the weather permitted. The Kauri tree/Pa lookout walk starts very close to the hotel. The owners were brilliant about being flexible regarding our check out, given that local roads were closing at a moment’s notice; they also kept us informed about what was happening (they had more local sources of info than us), and they had a fantastic kiwi sense of humour (the motel unit guide is full of quips).

Room tip: If you’re after a super modern unit, then this place is not for you. However it is spacious, comfortable, has great views and awesome hosts
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahmX3142MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023

Nice motel at the exotique of the ton
Not a modern design but large room with everything ypu need inside including a full kitxjen (small fridge)
The mattress is large and comfortable
Enjoy beautiful sunsets!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jend P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2022

Stayed here for one night when the weather was pretty wet. Nice warm room, pleasant views and friendly owners. The beds were comfy and the facilities were clean. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 508ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2022

We only stayed one night on our way further north. It is an older style motel, with quite a steep driveway leading up to it, and limited parking and turning. But the views are great, and our unit was spacious, with a separate bedroom with 2 single beds and a queen bed in the lounge overlooking the view. There's a deck off each unit, all with great views. There is a lovely walk starting from right outside the motel, and leading up and over the hill to the township. We walked over it and had dinner in town, then walked back along the (quiet) main road. While the bed seemed very firm (not my preference), I had a good night's sleep. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews