We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Epic road

We took this road from Whitianga to Coromandel due to maps telling us to go this way. Would be a... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2023
monkeymixer
,
Palmerston North, New Zealand
via mobile
good

If you don't like dirt roads and windy corners don;t do this one. Okay to do once but not again... read more

Reviewed 15 February 2022
traceyz22
,
auckland
Read all 378 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Coromandel
from $150.00
More Info
from $1,628.23
More Info
from $1,999.00
More Info
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
128
145
68
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
128
145
68
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waiau falls pigs gravel windy waterfall driver kauri whitianga trees grove suv heaps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The 309 Road is an excellent diversion when visiting the Coromandel Peninsula. The scenery is beautiful, the road itself is fun and there are interesting places to visit along the way, especially the Waterworks.

Date of experience: January 2014
3  Thank good4trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great drive between Coromandel Town on our way to Hahei. We stopped to see Stuart and his pigs and the Kauri Grove was also worth stopping for. Nice little walk with impressive Kauri trees, a babbling stream and native trees. Take your time (its about 45 mins drive).

Watch out for the other drivers coming the other way who sometimes drive in the middle of the road (!!). Keep left and keep alert going around corners.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank Dzsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is one of the must-do things if you visit Coromandel Penisula. The road is gravel but it is very easy to drive, PLEASE drive carefully and you'll be alright. I drove this road twice last time to go from Coromandel Town to Whitianga and vice versa. There are quite a lots of interesting stops on this road. Make sure you get check the brochure (at iSite Coromandel or wherever you can find) for not missing a place.

Another the thing I want to point out is also do not miss the other northern road (go to New Chum Beach, beaches and bays and also the Luke's Kitchen, etc.) to travel between Coromandel and Whitianga because there are even more stops for sight-seeing and explore than the 309 Rd.

A perfect round trip should be using both roads.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank tngphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An interesting road, although unsealed in parts and quite a few one lane bridges. Lovely bush, there are even a large family of Captain Cooker Pigs to stop and see. We stopped at the Waterfall, Kauri Grove and The Waterworks on the way to Coromandel Town.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank josheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Loved the drive through with lots to see. Stuart and his wild pigs are an absolute must stop. a much quicker trip from one side of the peninsula to the other.

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank BinnyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews