We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mike F

Great place to stay

Review of The Olive Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2024
Everything you want for a short layover in Corromandel. Clean, everything works and the beds are comfortable. The location is within walking distance of the town centre and you can stand in the middle of the road for quite a long time before you are in danger of being run over!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Feb 2024
Thank you so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from The Olive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Olive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.7 km from The Olive Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
nice to eat outside in summer
    2.3 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    view from our deck
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    3.3 km from The Olive Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    • eDreams
    2.3 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Coromandel Cottage
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      $205
    • eDreams
    0.5 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Happiness cabin
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    2.8 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    11.2 km from The Olive Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Coromandel
    Reviews (180)
    Filter reviews
    180 results
    Traveller rating
    146
    28
    2
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    146
    28
    2
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews double spa bath coromandel town per load close to town location is great comfortable beds restaurants and shops within walking distance easy walk olives david accommodation owner supermarket dryer facilities kitchen
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 180 reviews
    Reviewed 29 March 2023 via mobile

    A beautiful room. Quality fittings throughout. Everything you need. Kitchen was great. Bathroom lovely comfortable beds and a warm room without putting any heating on. I loved that
    Owner very helpful and laundry facilities are great only $2 per load each for dryer and machine.
    Close to town within walking distance.

    Room tip: Parking outside your door
    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank GHerbert1960
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2023

    Thank you so much

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 February 2023

    Spent 7 nights at this location during the wettest week ever in January 2023. Great location the room was clean, practical, bright and airy. David was so helpful in recommending places to visit, local eateries and general tips about The Coromandel.
    Easy walking distance to town for supermarkets and places to eat. Even on very wet and windy days we were very comfortable.

    Room tip: An upgrade to a suite is well worth it.
    Date of stay: January 2023
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank OnAir640224
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2023

    Thank you so much

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 January 2023

    Awesome place to stay. The room was very comfortable, modern and clean. Conveniently located near the centre of town, close to restaurants and shops. Friendly and helpful staff. Overall highly recommended.

    Date of stay: October 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank NorthStar31346926523
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2023

    Thank you so much

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 December 2022

    Stayed here for one night in November 2022.

    Friendly owner and he made us very welcome. Clean basic accommodation with all the facilities that you would need.

    Location is great with only a short walk into Coromandel Town.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Vinnie01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2022

    Thank you so much

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 October 2022

    Very clean, well-located accommodation. Don't let the slightly abrupt email you may be sent the day of your booking turn you off. The email sets out expectations for the hours the office operates. I was expecting a scary reception, but he was so friendly and helpful. Everything was excellent.
    We will stay again.

    Date of stay: October 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kikki0
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Aston, Owner at The Olive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2022

    Thank you for your review
    Check info is for the guests that have to be told how it is or they will push all the time .
    Like most motels I am maxed out with no staff and lots of overseas guests
    Thanks David

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews