We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
87
41
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
41
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom cottage quiet place to stay swimming pool rooms were very clean thought of everything play area driving creek railway lovely little place large living room self contained well equipped kitchen stay there again few minutes drive continental breakfast owners were friendly within walking distance local knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Very well located in a quiet location about 8 minutes walk from shopping centre. Very handy to the Driving Creek Railway. Jan provided us with all the information one could wish for. The cottages had towels changed each day and the floor was also mopped while we were out. Would stay here again if in Coromandel Town.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank neville g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We were two elder couples travelling together and the units here were small cottages with two bedrooms off a hallway from the front door and a large lounge/kitchen area. Perfect for us. The site also has an outdoor pool of which full use was made.

Coromandel Town centre is walkable but we deemed it just far enough in the evening to use the car.

A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Photos on the website are exactly as the cottages are. Jan & Steve were really helpful, giving us great tips for days out. Our cottage was comfortable, well appointed and well cared for. Our grandchildren visited us one day and had a fun time in the pool. The 20 min walk into the town centre was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our cottage was near the pool, which suited us very well.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sdjulesdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This is a good place to stay.

Clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a two bedroom place because we booked late. It would be fine for four people.

An interesting setting

It was well equipped and the hosts were friendly and helpful. Nice poole and very quiet

Very happy to recommend

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briansn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We spent just over a week at the Coromandel Colonial Cottages as a base for touring this area of New Zealand. The accommodation was clean and very well presented. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that consisted of a large living room with Tv and kitchenette, spacious bedroom and good sized toilet and shower facility. On site there is a laundry block, swimming pool - not the biggest - and play area with swing, trampoline and table tennis court. There is also a designated BBQ area if you feel so inclined.

The cottages come with free wi-fi however depending on location of your unit will determine the quality of the strength. On the whole it was fine by on occasions it would go down or be a very weak signal.

The cottages are around a 1k from the centre of Coromandel which means an easy stroll to the shops, bars and restaurants there.

By far the best feature is the attentiveness afford by the owners. Jan and Steve are always on hand to answer question or for a quick chat and advise on the local area.

I would thoroughly recommend this spot if you a looking for something simple and not inexpensive for either as a short break or stop over.

Room Tip: A centrally located cottage will offer the better wi-fi reception.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan W, Director at Coromandel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree with your that the Wifi signal was weak towards the back of the property. We had been waiting for a new system and booster to be installed and this was finally completed in February. It has made a huge difference. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews