We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveller rating
723
321
143
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
723
321
143
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa break hydrotherapy pool spa facilities garden lodge outdoor jacuzzi duncan's den swedish massage full body massage included in our package on arrival hot tub deluxe room lovely spa roll top bath steam room birthday treat romantic break
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel which was an unexpected surprise on a business trip. The food is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the setting is very attractive. Why only four stars? The rooms are wacky, very comfortable and highly individual. Mine had a glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom, a colleague had a bath in the bedroom. If you like showering or bathing with, or in front of, a partner it is ideal, but this may not be to everyone's taste so check the room layout first.....

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank richardj614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume L, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments. All rooms are very different in their decor, you are correct, always worth asking the team. They will be able to guide you through your choice.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Guillaume


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Great experience from start to finish. Lovely lady at check-in who showed us all the facilities before taking us to our room. The decor throughout is cosy and full of character.

Myself and my mother stayed in a spacious twin room, I think it was an accessible room as the sinks were low. The room had doors opening up to a little private patio area, with another door leading to the outdoor spa jacuzzi - felt very luxurious.

Spa treatment and facilities were some of the better ones I have experienced.Nice hydrotherapy pool with plenty of jets at each end, meaning no one has to fight for the bubbles!

Dinner was beautiful (I had the hummus to start and duck for main). Chose a cooked breakfast from the menu - lots of choice from a full English, Avocado on toast, Huevos Rancheros, Pancakes. There was also a good choice of high quality continental produce and breads to help yourself to.

Small things to improve on:
* Warmer lounge area in spa
* More soothing music in changing rooms (the house/pop music didn't really match the surroundings)
*Empty sanitary bins

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank QBMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume L, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the team and your recent review.
I am so glad that you had such lovely time with your mum.
Rest assured that your comments have been noted and we will revisit the music in the changing rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Stopped here on business and really liked it. The staff were fantastic and the chef did my own very special bacon sandwich to die for

Quite old fashioned rooms but very well maintained and no reason to go out to eat

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sutttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume L, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thanks you so much for your feedback, I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards


Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Just had the most fantastically relaxing weekend at Charlton house. We were firstly thrilled to be upgraded to the garden lodge which was beautiful with sunning views- the perfect treat for my 40th birthday!
We had a brilliant afternoon in the spa, I was treated to a facial too which was gorgeous.
We had delicious cocktails followed by amazing food in the restaurant. Breakfast too was yummy!
Special thanks to Zen Quinn (best name ever!) who checked us in and made sure we had everything (and who again stepped in and checked me into the spa when I was being somewhat ignored by the two girls who worked behind the spa reception).
We had a blast at Charlton house and will definitely be back. Thanks x

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Jet726064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume L, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you so much for your recent feedback and comments. Zen will be so pleased to have contributed to your relaxing stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This was a pleasant surprise. A country house hotel full of character and with very helpful and friendly staff. The spa which is included in the stay was Moroccan themed and one of the best hotel spas I have visited. Food was very good at dinner and an absolutely excellent array of choices for breakfast. Very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume L, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments on the team and your recent stay. Glad you like our amazing Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews