We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage to relax in while enjoying Suffolk”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Minsmere Cottage

Minsmere Cottage -front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Minsmere Cottage -front view
View from bedroom window Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Minsmere Cottage -front view
View from bedroom window
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
View from garden
Scallop Shell at Aldeburgh
The beach at Walberswick
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Westleton, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
helen6620...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage to relax in while enjoying Suffolk”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We chose this location because it is close to my Son and his family. It was a very happy bonus when we arrived at the lovely Minsmere Cottage. A quaint but surprisingly spacious home from home. Topped off with a welcome pack too. The garden is large and was a great space for my dog and daughter to play in and to eat out side. We visited Minsmere RSPB, such a fantastic place to be at one with nature, we saw lots of species of birds and squirrels too. The surrounding villages are worth a visit and the beaches of Walberswick and Sizewell too. All in all a holiday to remember fondly and a definite place to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel to the proprty
Liked least: Little bit remote, lanes are very narrow.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7149DRhod...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A great cottage in an excellent location. Perfect for visiting the RSPB reserve. Walking distance from local pub with excellent beer and food. Rooms very comfotable and all amenities provided. Great selection of walks. would definitely use again if/when in the area.
Communcation with the owners excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience of location for RSPB and ease of use of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location & beautiful cottage - idyllic!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week here with my husband and toddler plus my sister and her family of 4 stayed in the next door cottage, Meadow. The location is perfect backing onto Minsmere bird reserve which is a great place to visit. The cottage is perfectly equipped with a full cooking set - we even managed to bake a cake with all the fab utensils! The cottage is tastefully decorated and the wood burner is bliss. As it was just after Christmas we stayed there was even a Christmas tree and decorations up which was so nice and a lovely touch.
I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, there is so much to do in the area and there is a useful folder with details on all you need in the cottage too.
Minsmere is the perfect base to explore the area or equally if you want stay in and cosy on down in the cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is our fourth visit to Minsmere Cottage and we can't wait to return. The cottage is cosy, warm and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen, above average quality bed linen and towels, tasteful decor, immaculately clean and a very generous welcome pack (which included wine, milk, cake and other treats on our last visit). The owners, Liz and Simon, are very friendly and helpful. There is a useful information pack in the cottage with suggestions for local walks and attractions. A good selection of DVDs for the quiet evenings in! Parking at the front with easy access for packing and unpacking the car, not to mention those holiday purchases! We always take our dogs who take full advantage of the large enclosed garden which has magnificent views. The surrounding countryside is very attractive and there are some good walks on the doorstep. We can thoroughly recommend Minsmere Cottage and have also stayed in the adjoining property (Meadow Cottage, owned by the same people) which is equally as good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage really feels like
Liked least: The fact that we had to go home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing