We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest”

Dive College Lanzarote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive College Lanzarote is the only beach side dive center in Playa Blanca offering direct access to fantastic dive sites and facilities as well as a great family atmosphere and a beautiful view. We organize daily boat and shore dives as well as try dives in the sea for beginners and all PADI dive courses.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The weather was unfortunately not with us. the club preferred to cancel the visit of the museum with the training because there was a risk that the sea is troubled. So thank you for your honesty.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Yann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open water"
in 13 reviews
"shore entry"
in 3 reviews
"detailed briefing"
in 3 reviews
"rental equipment"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 12 reviews
"great diving"
in 9 reviews
"underwater photos"
in 3 reviews
"octopus"
in 9 reviews
"angel shark"
in 8 reviews
"sardines"
in 4 reviews
"safe hands"
in 5 reviews
"professional team"
in 5 reviews
"diving experience"
in 7 reviews
"padi course"
in 3 reviews
"sea life"
in 6 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 5 reviews
"bart"
in 40 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

I've been diving for over 40 years and an instructor for 20. I've seen a lot of dive organisations and I would give DCL 6/10 for their helpfulness and 4/10 for safety. Just a couple of examples of the latter, when the boat dropped a group of divers at a dive site, none of the guides had a surface marker buoy but I watched the boat immediately leave and go to the next bay to wait for about 40 minutes out of sight of the dive site. That means other boats could go overhead without knowing there were divers down and there were plenty of boats around. Fast boats and hard to see divers are not a good combination. It also means that if a diver got into trouble there would be no one there to help until the boat came back 40 minutes later.

I also watched a young lad throwing up after a dive and at first no one noticed and then the staff just treated it as a cleaning exercise until I brought it to the attention of other staff. Throwing up after a dive might just be sea sickness but it needs to be checked out because it could be something more serious.

So, I've seen less safe operations but I think DCL need to tighten up their procedures a bit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Pmforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas J, Manager at Dive College Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Pmforster, thanks for giving your feedback about your experience diving with us. We always want to learn from our divers to be able to improve our quality. Safety is very important to us. The dive that you are referring to is the tour dive where the group of divers is dropped at one dive site and dives to another dive site. Normally with all our dives the boat stays at the dive site the whole time. This is the only dive where we follow a different procedure. Therefore we check beforehand if the divers participating in this dive are capable. The boat waits at the dropping place until all divers have descended and are okay equalizing their ears. Then the boat leaves the dive site and waits at the other dive site which is at a distance of around 300 meters. During that time the boat captain can always see if the group/or a diver is at the surface and needs help. The guides have surface marker buoys for this situation. The boat can be there in a few minutes. The whole dive takes place alongside the shore. There are plenty of dive centres who do this dive without having a boat present. We have the boat there for extra safety.
Regarding the incident with the young lad. At the dive centre an instructor has notified the owner directly. He immediately asked the instructor the necessary questions. After that we have checked with the boy how he felt and he told us he was seasick. We have immediately contacted the grandparents of the boy. Because they were not in the hotel at that moment we kept the boy at the dive centre to help him because he was a minor. Once the hotel called that the grandparents were at the reception we brought the boy back and explained to the grandparents what had happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Just completed 2 days diving, 4 dives with the College.
Great Diving with a very sociable and relaxed diving experience group. Dive guides were first rate and knowledgeable and Bob's tour of the Museo Atlantico was brilliant.
No pressure diving in a safe current free environment makes it a great place for the inexperienced diver to gain confidence. Plenty if students being trained during my time there.
JJ. Wales.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jjL3372KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Visited the Dive College in August. As ever, the staff were friendly, very helpful and endless banter. An incredible night dive, with excellent instructor. (Got buzzed by an eagle ray which was amazing!)

Varied number of dive sites and the Atlantic Museum was well worth the trip.

Fantastic experience yet again. Looking forward to returning......

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Coopedycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Very unfriendly people who aren't helpfull. They gave the feeling that they aren't interested in having clients. Not again!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank xfrank2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas J, Manager at Dive College Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hello xfrank2018, we are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us. To avoid this in the future we like to have some more information about your experience with us. Can you tell us what program you have done with us at what time?

Regards
Bas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dive College Lanzarote also viewed

 

Been to Dive College Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing