We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
49
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed in the il Canarino cottage in June for a week. It was an excellent stay and we wished we had booked for longer. First the cottage is immaculate, clean and well stocked. The kitchen has everything you need fridge, toaster, coffee maker, lots of plates and pans. All very clean. The owner was helpful and accommodating too and offered guidance of where to go, where to eat etc. Payment also very easy.
The grounds of the agriturismo are beautifully kept and we saw the gardener daily. The pool area and pool its self was very nice too. All the other couples and families staying were friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the accommodation.
We were very happy with our cottage as the base for our holiday. Montecarlo is just up the road with fantastic local restaurants. You can easily drive to Lucca as well (40 mins) which is a lovely city. The town of Pescia is 5 minutes drive away and has well stocked supermarkets and a train station which we used to go to Florence for the day.
I have recommended Vecchio Olivo to my friends and family and would definitely come back myself.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lottietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed at il Canarino and my son and his wife and children stayed in I Melodi Maxi. It is an ideal place to stay, each cottage has a table and chairs ,the swimming pool and small play area are nearby. The wonderful Vecchio Olivo restaurant is five minutes walk away and the village of Montecarlo is another 5 minutes past the restaurant. Each cottage is equiped with towels, pool towels and soap,toilet rolls etc to last a day or two. i Melodi Maxi is on the road side of the property with a lovely private garden, Il Canariino was on the other side with a small garden looking towards the playground and pool. There are two entrances for the Vecchio Olivo and the entrance for the properties we stayed in was further around the bend. We had a pushchair and it was a little worrying walking around the bend towards the village. Luca kindly gave us a key to the other gate so that the walk was shorter and safer .
We have also stayed in the villa and other members of the family have stayed in Il frantoio and La Principessa and they were all lovely

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank kkh238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We arrived in the early evening from Lucca and were given a presentation about olives grown on the estate. We then had a tasting of the olives as well as some wine. We then went up to the restaurant to have dinner. At this stage, there were not a lot of people at the restaurant, but it gradually filled up.
We had a anti-pasta to start with which was followed by an interesting pasta dish. Then came the beef which was a huge slab of beef on the bone which we shared. Even so, there was still some meat left on the bone. This was followed by a crème caramel (called something else) which finished the meal very well. The wines were from the estate and although some were not to our taste, others were very pleasant. This restaurant is a little out of Lucca, but worth the trip. The service was very good and we were never waiting for a waitress. The price is on the higher side of medium.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2017

What we expected and what we got were very different. Amazing hospitality, nothing is or was too much trouble. The food of Tuscany is delightful, the wine beautiful, everything is explained so well. This was only a short lunch break, but I'm sure if you stay there you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon traveling around Italy and were very pleasantly surprised. The owner, Luca, was very helpful and accommodating, easily contactable by phone beforehand and showed us round the property with great attention to detail then left us to it.

The traditional country house had recently been renovated and had everything you'd expect and need to be self sufficient including oven, combi boiler, sun loungers, dishwasher etc. plus a great little pool at the top of the gardens.

The restaurant is walking distance and the whole experience was just a quiet and relaxed oasis in a busy trip. Very happy.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fishersbrewco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews