We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
134
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel giuliana boat bed sardinia sea beaches trip hosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We’ve spent 10 wonderful days in the Bed & Breakfast Marie-Claire beginning of July 2017 (2 adults + 2 children from 12). Our 1st trip to Sardinia and great holidays for sure.
The roads in Sardinia are in a good state and the B&B is well located to go and travel easily.
The family room was big enough; the B&B is very clean and in a calm area. Breakfast was excellent: fruit, eggs, homemade cakes and jams, etc.
The absence of restaurant at Marie-Claire B&B is absolutely not a problem as there is a very nice restaurant (“Da Giancarlo”) 50m from the B&B (not expensive, typical & fresh food, very friendly staff).
Luigi & Giuliana are so friendly! Always ready to help and willing to give you the best advice on what to see or do: we rent a boat, visited caves and the Sardinian ethnographic museum, went to wonderful beaches with white sand and clear water (between 25° and 29°C), to typical markets, had walks seeing animals in the wild, etc. We would go back there with pleasure and would advise it.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We lived, visited many places and stay in different type and style of hotels, B&B and Residences. The Hotel Marie Claire in Lanusei deserves my best comment. This hotel officially 3 stars deserve 5 instead for the quality of service, the high level of cleaning, the delicious breakfast with home made cakes and overall very kind and nice attitude of Giuliana and Luigi that manage the hotel with lot of care for their guests. Quality of sleep is extremely good thanks to very comfortable mattress and silent location. I really recommend this hotel. And even for tourists interested by the sea side, I suggest to book the Marie Claire located in Lanusei where you can enjoy fresh air even when at sea level temperatures rise 40 degrees. If you need to stay connected, don't worry WiFi works very well.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank VincenzoShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

First trip to Sardinia, went for a week with the family. Checked out Trip Advisor and came across the Marie Claire. It's everything it says plus more. The hotel is pretty central between Olbia and Cagliari. The hotel is run by two lovely people Luigi and Juliana who really make the stay special! Full of help and advise and can't do enough for you. The rooms are clean and finished well with good sized rooms. The area is ideal for walkers, tourers, cyclists and bikers as the forrest locations and mountain views are brilliant. Just 25-30 mins drive from outstanding beaches at Cea. Sardinia is pretty much untouched by commercialism and is really charming. All the above within reach of the hotel, we were well pleased! Thanks!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank chrismossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

This is our last night of three at this hotel and we are very sad to be leaving. Our English speaking hosts, Luigi and Julie, have been really attentive and friendly. We almost feel like part of their family.
I know from other reviews that this is what all visitors can expect: a warm, friendly welcome; an active interest in your plans with sound, friendly advice; a warm welcome back each day; above all, a generosity of spirit and kindness that is as genuine as it is unexpected.

One example from many: we had a plan for a trip on the Trenino Verde. Luigi and Julie went out of their way to advise and physically assist us to make sure that our plan was fulfilled. Without their input we would have had a much lesser experience.
Lovely dogs, Nala and Lucky. Great breakfast, well equipped and comfy room, wi-fi no problems, fantastic views.
We can't recommend this hotel more highly. Enjoy.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed at Hotel Marie Claire for a week in August. The hotel is on the outskirts of Lanusei, a small and sweet town in the Ogliastra region of Sardinia, and is family run and family friendly.

The hotel is very clean, with a mixture of vibrant (main reception) decor and neutral (bedroom) decor. Our room was a very good size and had all mod cons. such as fridge, tv and air conditioning. The bed was large and very comfortable and our room had French doors opening onto a small balcony and wonderful view of mountains and the sea in the distance. I big factor in my choosing this hotel was the neutral decor as matching covers and curtains give me a headache! The bathroom was also a very good size, with good shower and pale pink tiling throughout.

The staff at the Marie Claire could not have been more friendly or helpful. The owners speak Italian and French, and were happy to chat with us every day, making us feel really welcome.

On the map, the sea looked close to Lanusei, but due to the mountains it was a fairly long drive each day. However, the journey was great, through two small towns, meaning you could pick up snacks on the way and see a bit of the region. (A car is a definite must, book in advance via the internet for a much cheaper price as picking one up at the airpost is expensive).

I would recommend L'Ultima Spiaggia beach near Bari Sardo, stop off at the little hut stand selling fruit, veg and jars of tasty homemade treats on your way and say hello to their little dog, Lola. On windy days you will also find a man called Pietro at L'Ultima Spiaggia who teaches Kite-Surfing for a good rate.

Lanusei is pretty small and not very tourist-orientated, which is perfect if you want to experience Sardinia without hordes of people taking photos and interrupting your peace. You may decide to drive to other towns for food as there are not many restaurants in Lanusei. I recommend La Rotunda, also owned by the family who own Marie Claire.
There are several boat excursions from Arbatax, which I would recommend as an alternative to the regular beaches. There are little huts at the port selling these trips. Shop around for the best deal.
We were on honeymoon and found Lanusei the perfect place to relax, escape and explore and Marie Claire was definitely a great choice.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EleventhHourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews