We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to relax and unwind”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TwoHugs
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Trullo Caterina was the ideal accommodation for our stay in Puglia. It is central to lots of beautiful villages and the coast, so seeing the surrounding area is easy. But it is the trullo itself - along with the gardens, pool, secluded and shady areas that make it a pure delight. Add to that some unobtrusive and generous owners and an extremely well-mannered and friendly dog... and you've got yourself a little bit of Italian paradise! Ciao Jil, Andrew, James and Charlie - hope we can come back and see you again sometime.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
217Vicky
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely trullo for enjoying the Itria Valley”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Jill and Andrew's beautifully converted trullo had everything we needed for a relaxing week in Puglia. Spotlessly clean and surrounded by a lovely garden with pool it's ideal for visiting the hill top towns of Cisternino, Ostuni, Martina Franca (recommended) and Locorotundo. Jill and Andrew are friendly and helpful hosts and we enjoyed the company of Charlie Pickle and the cats too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wald
USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Puglia”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and used Trullo Caterina as a home base to tour the area. As other reviews have said, the trullo is very clean and comfortable. Jill stocks the kitchen with basic food, there is a supermarket handy in nearby Cisternino, and there is a street market almost every day in one nearby town or another. We fixed breakfast every morning and supper on several nights. The bathroom is large and modern, a contrast to many European apartments. Be warned that the bed is small: an American "full" bed size, so it can be tiny if you are used to a queen or king. We found that Jill, Andrew and James were helpful with local touring information and restaurant suggestions. And there was a good selection of town maps and information left by previous trullo occupants. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Trullo Caterina. It is a bit hard to find, though Jill sends clear directions for getting there the first time. It would be helpful for her to provide a better map so one could find it again when coming from other directions once there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: rock ornaments too close to the driveway making turns nearly impossible without damaging the car.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKP61
Cilcain, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 star trullo”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Trip Advisor comes up trumps yet again!

My wife and I are fanatical lovers of Italy and are thoroughly enjoying discovering what each of the different regions has to offer. Puglia was high on the list of areas we hadn’t yet visited and a stay in a trullo was an absolute must. After many hours on Trip Advisor reading countless reviews of trulli rentals across the Val d’Itria area, Trullo Caterina seemed to offer all that we were looking for, with a unanimous thumbs up from all its reviewers…….and they weren’t wrong.

The accommodation is absolutely perfect for two, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with everything that you would ever need. However, apart from sleeping and cooking, the rest of the time was spent outside: and this is where Trullo Caterina really excels. The private courtyard next to the trullo is just that: a lovely, very private space in which to relax and sit outside in the evening over a bottle of local wine. The rest of the gardens are simply stunning and Andrew has worked wonders with his seemingly never ending landscaping project (I am deeply envious of his dry stone walling skills). The pool area is undoubtedly the best of any we have found in any rental property and a very relaxing spot to sit and do absolutely nothing other than take the odd cooling dip when the heat gets too much.

Location wise, the trullo is in the perfect spot when it comes to getting out and about and seeing the area. The two nearest towns, Cisternino and Locorotondo are great for just wandering around and getting lost in the maze of whitewashed streets. Ostuni too is lovely, and Polignano a Mare on the coast is a charming place to spend the afternoon. Don’t miss the caves at Castellana, they are absolutely awesome and well worth a visit. Alberobello has to be seen, but you do have to look very hard to see past the tacky commercialism that comes very close to spoiling what should be a truly magical place.

As for the hosts, I can only repeat what everyone else has already said on this site. Jill, Andrew and James are all absolutely lovely and we came away after two weeks feeling more like we were close friends rather than just guests. A special recommendation too for James’ pizzas, freshly made and straight from the wood fired pizza oven by the pool. Probably the best I’ve ever tasted.

Finally, this review would not be complete without giving a special mention to the other hosts…. the four legged ones! The three cats and two dogs were constant companions wherever we wandered in the gardens and we were particularly honoured to be asked to 'baby sit' them while Jill and Andrew were away visiting family near Rome. Charlie Pickle is a real star and I only wish there’d been enough room in my suitcase to sneak him home!

In short, I can thoroughly recommend Trullo Caterina. Thank you once again Jill, Andrew, James……..and Trip Advisor!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding trullo & hosts
Liked least: Mosquitos!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing