We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This mountain chalet has it all..”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Bedroom 3
Icicles on roof
Door handle!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Emma H
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This mountain chalet has it all..”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I adore Rocky Mountain. It has everything you imagine wanting from a classic mountain chalet. A warren of cosy bedrooms and bathrooms, the upper rooms have the most beautiful views.. even from in the bath!, whilst the ground floor rooms look out into the forest bordering the garden..The sitting room is a great size, really comfortable, enhanced by cosy nooks and picture windows, with of course the hot tub on the back terrace. The kitchen and dining room is rustic, spacious and inviting with open fire and again with those rural, valley and mountain views..Steve Barrelli is a fab host as are all his staff..great food, mountain guiding and help with everything!
Easy access to the brilliant Les Houches slopes, (awesome tree runs!) the village, and buses to Chamonix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, views and comfort.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A wonderful chalet with great accommodation and food”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed as a party of 12 very comfortably in this chalet. The food was plentiful and delicious with yummy cake when we got home from the slopes followed by hot tubs, games and excellent evening meals. Nothing was stinted on and the layout of the house worked well with children cousins able to have their space upstairs and adults enjoying p and q downstairs! An easy drive through France and handy for local shops and chamonix only a 15 min drive away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8troy8
1 review
“A great ski holiday”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Rocky Mountain is one of my favourite chalets to stay in France, being so close to the famous Mont Blanc and with the relaxed feel of the French alps.
Rocky Mountain in my eyes is a unique chalet that is very homely, quirky and a lot of a French alpine character.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstymar...
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our amazing holiday”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This chalet is such a unique and magical place. If you love staying in places that are full of character and quirky that also have all the mod cons you could wish for then this is it. Fantastic location and a great company to deal with.
The whole holiday has been marvellous, from the initial booking until our departure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ran14
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware - things are not as advertised and poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Rocky Mountain chalet for 9 nights, as a group of 3 families with young children. After reading the other reviews and communicating with the owner, we thought that the chalet would be perfect for us. Especially, we were looking for enjoying the hot tub outside while preparing huge steaks on the grill. Unfortunately, the moment we entered the chalet, we noticed that the hot tub doesn't work and there is no grill. This became a minor concern, when we found out later, that our expectation of having hot showers, is not going to be met. Only freezing cold water came out from the pipes making us to return some 100 years back to the days where hot buckets of water, heated on the stove, were used. We contacted the property manager who promised to fix the water heating and provide a grill. After a few days, when she stopped answering our calls and didn't fix the issues, we contacted the owner who also promised to fix everything. When he also stopped answering our calls, we finally understood that we fell into a trap. Since we paid everything in advance, there was actually nothing we could have done to push the owner to provide what he advertises. Three days before we left, the neighbor was sent by the owner to show us a hot shower we can use in a nearby chalet (which was vacant), and gave us 3 bottles of Cava as a compensation. Needless to say that this was too little and too late....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and dining table
Liked least: No hot water; No grill; Hot tub not working;
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
We were very disappointed to receive such a poor review as most of our guests send us grateful emails after their holidays, particularly commenting on the excellent friendly service they receive. I would like to reassure any future guests that we run three chalets and this is our first bad review (please see properties no. 268726 & no. 268727 on this website). We have been running chalets for over 20 years and pride ourselves on our service but we can understand why in this instance the holiday maker felt that their expectations were not met. Unfortunately the boiler breaking down was not something that we foresaw and we did our best to get it repaired as soon as possible. It is a brand new top of the range boiler, so is not something we would expect to break down.

The guests discovered there was a fault with the boiler when they had no hot water on the Bank Holiday Monday, the fourth day of their holiday. We tried everything we could to find a plumber, our chalet managers even had a go at mending it themselves. Unfortunately this week coincided with the French Bastille Holiday Week and we just could not find any available plumbers. Our two regular plumbers were both on holiday and the other plumbers we tried to contact, via our network of local friends, were also either away or flat out. We finally found a plumber to visit on the Friday before the guests departed and he did manage to fix the problem. In the meantime, as soon as it became obvious that we may not be able to immediately fix the boiler, we arranged with our neighbour (who was away in Switzerland) to allow our guests to use her chalet so they could have some hot showers. We also asked our manager to buy the guests some champagne and arrange for a generous discount off their meal in a local restaurant ‘The Jekyll’ in Chamonix, where she also worked. We felt we kept the guests updated at all times, we were phoning and texting our managers and plumbers constantly, and I personally spoke to the guests several times to keep them informed of progress and returned any missed calls as we were also away on holiday. Our chalet managers, live right behind the chalet and are always on hand to ensure things run smoothly and resolve any issues as quickly as possible. We certainly do not take these things lightly.

The other couple of things mentioned were the barbeque and hot tub. The chalet has a barbeque built into the rockery off the deck by the hot tub at the rear of the chalet, which is in keeping with the chalet. Guests normally use free wood from our wood pile or they buy their own charcoal. I think in this case perhaps the guests were more used to using a gas barbeque. The hot tub was discovered to have a small leak but this was fixed after two days once we found out what the problem was. We realise that these issues compound together to make the guest feel let down but we must stress that this was not a ‘trap’ and in any way intentional. We are a small family business who have a very good reputation in the industry and take great pride in the quality of our chalets and holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing