We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
131
109
32
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
109
32
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner massage chair onsen hotel hot pot private onsen western beds lounge area bell boy open fire private room long corridor soft serve ice cream second level chain hotels outdoor foot bath japanese style room hotel room
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

My second time to this hotel. The service quality of the staff here are excellent! The kaiseki dinner was particularly good, in terms of freshness and tastes, it still beats all the other ryokans I have stayed at both in previous trips as well as this time.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank GLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Booked this hotel in order to take the Ice Breaking ship. A pleasant and relaxing stay with a touch of luxury compared to other onsen resorts. Both the outdoor and indoor onsens are located on the ground floor. Personally, I prefer ground floor onsens as it has a more nature feel. The place was not crowded though it was full on the night.

Food wise, not as much variety as other more touristy onsen resort but quality is much better. Common winter activities can be arranged by the hotel, eg smelt fishing, snow shoe walk etc.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay. I would have given it five star if the wi-fi access is better.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

From some of the pictures posted, those rooms seemed to be ones with private hot tubs. Tour we joined asked for a surcharge of $350 for 1 night which we passed since our stay was for about 8hrs.

The "regular" room we stayed on 3rd floor is a bit tired. With shower water going in and out of being hot and cold, depending on others usage presumably. From stains on shower curtain rod, overall condition is about Holiday Inn level.

The buffet strangely had very little Japanese dishes, mainly western, with a made to cook pizza area where you select the ingredients. Overall food taste barely average.

Massage wasn't the best. Parts of the lobby areas obviously had been remodeled, which actually didn't match the decor of the room we stayed.

If you select the hotel, make sure you splurge and upgrade.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank o2mpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nice room and great view. Spacious and clean.

Public bath is just so-so. Strange about that the bar is not open until 9pm. No where to get a drink before dinner.

Nice hotel and will stay there if I visit Abashiri again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Picked this hotel because it looked quite new on Tripadvisor and it turned out to be a great choice. The room we picked is one of the more expensive ones and it was really worth the extra dollar. The entire 2/F is the home to large rooms with private outdoor onsen. The room was spacious, stylish yet simple. Loved the room sooooooo much the minute we entered it and we said we could come here next time for a few days just to do nothing but relax. The outdoor onsen area is lovely. There is a massage chair with a CD player nearby whereby you can choose from some relaxing music to play. It was a lovely pick!

The buffet dinner was very good. The beef was outstanding whilst they served our table with one large plate of crab legs. The sashimi was very fresh too. And on the next morning the breakfast didn't let us down either.

Some people complain about the fact that the rooms don't face the lake. Oh well, of course I would love to see the lake too but not being able to see it wasn't the end of the world to us. We loved the tranquility of our rooms and the friendliness of the staff. Would definitely come back again!!! The location might be inconvenient to some people though but we loved the fact that it was not next to a mall or some stupid things like that. We did truly relax!

Room Tip: The rooms with onsen inside the room on 2/F are superb!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrandonAshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews