We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$218
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Journey184186
Wilmington, Delaware

Not what was expected

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Small room on 3rd floor. Needs updating, worn, chipped furniture/paint. Had mini-fridge but no microwave. Could see the lake, but hotel is located beyond town; across a busy road. Car park is no where near large enough for each cluster of rooms. Late at night it was a free for all and getting out of a parking spot next morning was an obstacle course to avoid the cars that did not have a spot and they had parked partially blocking what thru way there was. (Can't blame them) Gravel lot made maneuvering luggage a hassle only to find we had to carry it down some stairs in order to carry it up 3 flights.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this review
Responded 10 Apr 2024
Dear Journey184186,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review during your recent stay. We sincerely apologise that your recent stay fell short of expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$595
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $595
0.8 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$221
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free parking
Nearby church attraction
Tripadvisor
$359
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$279
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of our room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $102
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $431
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (4,765)
Filter reviews
4,765 results
Traveller rating
1,549
1,452
902
475
387
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,549
1,452
902
475
387
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast mountain view living area full kitchen bedroom apartment washing machine beautiful location heat pump one night stay south island amazing views tekapo lake upstairs accommodation queenstown units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 4,765 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

We went in March 2024. The location was next to a busy road which wasnt ideal as you had to cross the road to what few shops and restaurants the town has.

The room itself was tiny, not enough room to unpack suitcase if two people were staying. The beds were okay and bathroom decent

We missed our paid breakfast due to it being full up but it wasnt a large room anyway.

Staff were friendly but I would rate it just average.

Room tip: Get to breakfast early as you may not get in. Some rooms quite a walk from receiption.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S2412CFmarkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear S2412CFmarkd,

Thank you for staying with us at Peppers Bluewater Resorts and for leaving a wonderful review score. I am very pleased to hear that you appreciated the location and convenience of our hotel.

We are sorry though to hear the room you were provided failed to meet you expectations, I note your reservation was for one of our standard hotel rooms which are by definition and are of course advertised as a ‘Sleep & Go’ type accommodation.

Rest assured that we have raised your feedback t to our Management team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024

My stay at Peppers Tekapo was a mix of smooth moments and notable challenges. The late check-in was hassle-free, but the journey to the room felt like navigating a maze. The car park, not linked to the rooms, was inconveniently distant, especially when lugging suitcases. Room service was disappointing—the phone seemed purely decorative, remaining nonfunctional despite our reports. Housekeeping only made surface touches, replacing towels but neglecting a thorough clean, even when requested. A simple amenity like a microwave in the room would be a welcome addition. The lack of a working phone compounded the inconvenience, making any issue a trek to the reception. An improvement in these areas would significantly enhance the guest experience.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sightseer28563053074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Sightseer28563053074,

Thank you for staying with us at Peppers Bluewater Resorts and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024

The resort is huge with many rooms and the roads and pavements are not at all friendly to push our luggage around. there was no offer of assistance by the hotel staff with our luggage even though i told them we had big luggages. other renowned resorts or even basic resorts always offered assistance with their golf carts to ferry the luggages around especially since there are so many steps everywhere and even leading to the entrance of the rooms. There are golf carts available but not used at all.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Q2876ZTcheryls,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review during your recent stay. Normally we charge for portrage however we may sometimes not able to offer it right away depending how busy reception is at the time of request but it is possible to deliver later when time permits.

I am sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

This was not the standard generally provided by Peppers resorts.
The room was akin to a cave. The property was located in a beautiful location with expansive lake frontage views. Our room, and many others, were not. It was hidden at the back, had one small window (looking to a retaining wall) and barely room to move around the bed or open suitcases. The car parking was chaotic, unallocated and inadequate. The hair dryer, tv set top box and I assume ‘tea making facilities’ were stored in a box on the wall. There was a hole in the wall, the bathroom vanity was chipped, the tv disconnected (my tall husband had to connect) and no basic supplies like a shower cap or sanitary bag were provided. Overall it was a depressing experience.
The building showed poor design that failed to take advantage of the views and an obvious amount of greed in getting as many rooms in as possible. It made something we were excited about into one of our worst holiday experiences.

Room tip: Don’t bother. Stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Rebecca,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo.

It is disappointing to hear the room you were provided failed to meet you expectations, I note your reservation was for one of our standard hotel rooms which are by definition and are of course advertised as a ‘Sleep & Go’ type accommodation. A recognised challenge for us is to ensure that all of our Agents and methods of booking are correctly informed of the size of the room. Depending on the property occupancy, we are sometimes able to offer upgrade options arrival to the Resort. These upgrade options for larger room types incur additional fees as would happen in most all hotels.

Rest assured that we have raised the feedback that you shared to our Management team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

Poor service for check-in receptionist. The Filipino receptionist (lady) had never smiled and greeted me and other guests while check-in. I asked her about the parking area and upgraded for a gold member, she was not willing to answer it. It seemed she was not willing to assist me. For other 2 receptionists (guys), they were so slowly.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8510PWjosephw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Toma, Owner at Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Joseph,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review during your recent stay. I want to sincerely apologised for the negative experience that you had with our front reception team at check in.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews