We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Japanese we had to visit twice!”
Review of Kohan Restaurant

Kohan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese we had to visit twice!”
Reviewed 14 April 2017

It's impossible to get a table here so we ordered takeaway on 2 occasions. The Tekapo rolls are amazingly good. We tried the salmon don and the teriyaki salmon don. Both were good but I prefer the former better!

Would highly recommend this place if you happen to visit the region!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtravelfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    307
    60
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
237 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Great food! Great place!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017

In March during our trip to Lake Tekapo we tried to get to Kohan for dinner without reservation, the place was fully booked until 8 pm. We could order takeaway, but some of the dishes that we were interested to try were not on the menu.
Couple days later we came for lunch, place was very busy. And we can see why: Food was delicious! And service was great!

It is very casual and busy place. We started with Japanese beer, which was excellent. We had Udon Noodle soup with mixed tempura, venison tataki, tempura shrimp sushi, and salmon sashimi. Everything was great. Love it! Hot tea was very good as well. Service was attentive and prompt. Great place! We can see why it is so popular and #1 on TA. We would definitely recommend this place! And advise to get reservations for lunch or dinner. We would come again.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank RItraveler512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a Japanese restaurant in a remote area”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend both their Kohan bento and Tempura bento boxes. Place is always quite full especially if the tourist buses carrying Asians have arrived. The staff are all exceptionally courteous and efficient. Kitchen is very clean. Food is fresh and authentic. Make sure you book as it's popular.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Get a reservation, and try the bento box and tekapo roll. Fresh NZ salmon is delicious here!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is a busy place, so get a reservation. They offer a wide selection of sushi and tempura options. The bento box offered the perfect variety! The tekapo roll and fresh NZ salmon was incredible. Be sure to get dessert - each is garnished with a NZ animal made out of honey/sugar and a nest of spun sugar.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent simple Japanese - Booking important!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017

As the title says it is important to book before going to this popular place. We arrived with a booking and were led to a table while about 10 diners waited! The menu is basic but to the point. Good, simple Japanese food. The bento boxes are an easy choice if you want to dabble in a bit of everything including the sashimi, which is delicious. The udon noodle soup is good, and so are the fired offerings of chicken and tempura.
Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohan Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Kohan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing