We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a reservation, and try the bento box and tekapo roll. Fresh NZ salmon is delicious here!”
Review of Kohan Restaurant

Kohan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Get a reservation, and try the bento box and tekapo roll. Fresh NZ salmon is delicious here!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is a busy place, so get a reservation. They offer a wide selection of sushi and tempura options. The bento box offered the perfect variety! The tekapo roll and fresh NZ salmon was incredible. Be sure to get dessert - each is garnished with a NZ animal made out of honey/sugar and a nest of spun sugar.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    309
    63
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent simple Japanese - Booking important!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017

As the title says it is important to book before going to this popular place. We arrived with a booking and were led to a table while about 10 diners waited! The menu is basic but to the point. Good, simple Japanese food. The bento boxes are an easy choice if you want to dabble in a bit of everything including the sashimi, which is delicious. The udon noodle soup is good, and so are the fired offerings of chicken and tempura.
Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Salmon!”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We are avid fans of Japanese food and frequented many Japanese restaurants in Bangkok. Also we took a trip to Japan a few years ago and ate at many nice restaurants. We were a bit hesitant to visit a Japanese restaurant in New Zealand but we are so glad we did!

We would like to say Kohan is one of the best Japanese restaurants we've been to. The atmosphere is basic but homey. The food was so good! The salmon was extremely fresh. Try the avocado & salmon roll. The Agedashi Tofu (fried tofu in soy sauce) was heavenly - creamy and well-seasoned! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Methanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible food”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner, absolutely loved it:

1. Super fresh fish. Their Salmon Don was amazing

2. Also loved their JFC (Japanese Fried Chicken)

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank 201arjunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening dinner after long drive”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

At first we struggled to find Kohan tucked behind the back of the "main" row of shops in tekapo.

When we did we were pleasantly surprised, plenty of locals getting takeaways and popular with Japanese tourists - a good sign we thought. Super friendly and efficient staff. We both had the tempura bento box probably could get away with one between two.

Asahi, speights, local wines or sake. What's not too love?

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Bartles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohan Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Kohan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing