We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salmon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kohan Restaurant

Kohan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Salmon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are avid fans of Japanese food and frequented many Japanese restaurants in Bangkok. Also we took a trip to Japan a few years ago and ate at many nice restaurants. We were a bit hesitant to visit a Japanese restaurant in New Zealand but we are so glad we did!

We would like to say Kohan is one of the best Japanese restaurants we've been to. The atmosphere is basic but homey. The food was so good! The salmon was extremely fresh. Try the avocado & salmon roll. The Agedashi Tofu (fried tofu in soy sauce) was heavenly - creamy and well-seasoned! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Methanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    303
    60
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for dinner, absolutely loved it:

1. Super fresh fish. Their Salmon Don was amazing

2. Also loved their JFC (Japanese Fried Chicken)

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank 201arjunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening dinner after long drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At first we struggled to find Kohan tucked behind the back of the "main" row of shops in tekapo.

When we did we were pleasantly surprised, plenty of locals getting takeaways and popular with Japanese tourists - a good sign we thought. Super friendly and efficient staff. We both had the tempura bento box probably could get away with one between two.

Asahi, speights, local wines or sake. What's not too love?

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Bartles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yumms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I ordered 2 different bentos and they are yummy. Very fresh ingredients used and sashimis are good! Reasonably priced.

However the restaurant has a weird smell upon entering which kind of turn me off.

Be sure to make a reservation as dinner are quite busy.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank cookielove_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
457 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,315 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed dinner here. Prices were reasonable and both the service and food were very good. We made a reservation a day in advance which proved to be prudent. They were turning people away when we were there due to a large bus group that they were hosting.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohan Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Kohan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing