We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$197
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
medstudent2013
New Zealand

Expensive stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2019
Adequate for a short stay in Tekapo. We booked fairly last minute and this was the cheapest place that we could find. Quite difficult to find (even with Google maps) from the main highway so was glad that we arrived in the daylight.
The room was clean and had basic kitchen amenities. Complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies were available. TV had Sky which was an added bonus.
The motel was a 5 minute walk from the supermarket, the lake front and the meeting point for the Observatory tours.
Perfectly adequate but expensive for what you get.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review
Responded 20 May 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay! We agree that we do have a perfect central location in the village and a full view of the lake is merely steps away. We do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your time in the Mackenzie - it is a wonderful spot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $579
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of our room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $449
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Nearby church attraction
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $337
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $278
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$177
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
392
307
83
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
392
307
83
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath upstairs room central location studio unit mt john would stay again dark sky stunning views stayed here for one night church lake tekapo supermarket queenstown microwave hosts winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Arrived here after a long drive to find it is a building site, they are constructing a huge building in front of the rooms, the noise and dust are awful. And there is NO VIEW WHATSOEVER. The rooms are very basic overlooking the car park and the building site, there is nowhere to wash kitchen utensils apart from in the bathroom.

We complained to the 'manager' who was indifferent, obviously heard it all before. We told her we were leaving and would be wanting a refund. When we got back to the UK the motel refused a refund because 'we hadn't told them we were not staying'. Complete lies. We stayed at the Peppers Bluewater Resort just up the road, it was brilliant - good service, nice view, clean rooms, everything I expect from a hotel.

Room tip: If you are looking for a room with a view go elsewhere, these rooms overlook the car park and a massive building site,
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamboMzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

Great view of new planetarium and YHA, part view of lake which would have been spectacular. Basic accommodation, exterior tired but inside ok, just a motel room which would have had a great view, not much room to put your stuff, no sink just a bowl, room clean, bed and pillows good, internet slow but has Foxtel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback.
You may not have been aware that we do have two room types available - Studio Unit's and our Family Suite's which have fully equipped kitchen facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

Just because you own a business doesn't make you a manager that's for sure. The owners at this hotel were disgraceful. Things they said to us in the brief 15minutes we were there "google maps is shocking for getting you here" (they can suggest edits for this) "you should never book on bookings.com" (they should remove their listing if that's how they feel) "booking.com takes from our website what they want and we can't control what it says... we've changed our listing on booking.com since you booked 6 days ago" (said in the same breathe). Our problems started trying to find this place... It's incorrectly listed on Google maps and lack of signage means you'll drive past twice trying to find it. Then we got to our "room" we booked for 4 adults to find a double bed, single bed and sofa bed. We specifically booked a double and 2 singles as we had done for the other 16 nights of our trip as we didn't want anyone of our group on a sofa bed. They denied that booking.com let them know there was going to be 4 of us (no other property we stayed at had this issue) but just the type of room we wanted. They told us to make the sofa bed with the linen in the cupboard rather than setting the room up as per booking (spare pillows and blanket - not equivalent or adequate to what other beds in the room had). The gap between the sofa bed and single bed in the second bedroom couldn't fit a suitcase and once the sofa bed was pulled out you couldn't access the cupboard or move in that room either. The rest of the suite was tiny. Despite this being just a place to sleep for $360 with the bonus of making your own bed we made the decision to pay an extra $15 to stay at a HUGE townhouse down the road at the Mantra. Naturally we were denied a refund from the owners at the village motel. They made no effort to assist us. The male one who speaks down to guests told us there was a room with 2 singles upstairs but that would cost extra. He never offered us this room or advised us of the cost difference. But stood and watched as we reloaded the car to leave and ignored us as we waited in the office to return keys. They had ample opportunity to address our concerns - make up the sofa bed, offer us a better room and advise cost difference, or stop blaming booking.com. STAY ELSEWHERE

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Katelyn091
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Hi Katelyn
As per our previous emails we are very sorry that the accommodation was not what you expected but as below it was as advertised on Booking.Com.
Below is the Booking Confirmation you received, sent to us from Booking.Com. I have previously emailed this to you and I apologise if you have not received it.

Room details
The 2- Bedroom suites are located on the ground floor and include
1 queen size bed in the master bedroom and EITHER 2 single beds (can be converted to 1 king size bed)
OR
a sofa bed and a single bed in the 2nd bedroom, which is separated from the lounge area by a folding door. The Suite offers a terrace this is accessed by sliding door. These units have cooking and dish washing facilities. The en suite bathroom has a shower over a spa bath (excluding the wheelchair accessible unit).
Guest name Katelyn **********
Number of guests 4 adults
Meal plan There is no meal option with this room.
Thanks.
Booking.com Support

We would suggest that if in future you are booking a room that has 2 types of bedding configurations advertised that you make a request on Booking.Com for the bedding configuration you prefer or alternatively phone or email the motel.
We are once again sorry that we could not move you to another Suite but as explained to you at the time we were fully booked and our other guests had requested specific rooms and or bedding configurations.

Once again we apologise that the room was not as you expected it to be.


Kind Regards

Lake Tekapo VIllage Motel
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

The descriptions and photos of the views from this motel are highly deceptive both on its own website and Trip Advisor. There are no views of the lake to speak of, having been completely built out in 2018 by two new buildings.
At $330 per night for an aging one bedroom studio with hill glimpses, it is rediculously expensive. There are much better alternatives in Lake Tekapo.
Management’s responses to reviews that point out guests weren’t forewarned the “excellent” lake views no longer existed, just confirms they are being deceptive. Adding insult to injury, management excuses this on the basis that they tell guests the best view is from the lake edge ! Is that the best excuse they can come up with ?
This has been the situation for nearly a year, more than enough time to alter the descriptions and photos on their website and Trip Advisor. The views of the lake are the main selling point for the motel as reflected in their pricing. This is a glaring example of gouging by deception.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank DanteHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that Tekapo is growing and we too will be happy when the construction is complete before winter 2019 - we had advised all of our booking agencies in advance of the construction and also have had notification on our website for well over a year now. Although this progress for our wee town has hindered some of our views, we are still in a perfect central location and a full view of the lake is merely steps away. We do hope that you have enjoyed your time in the Mackenzie - it is a wonderful spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

We thought we had paid for & were getting an expansive view over Lake Tekapo & mountains (as posted on the website) but the view was over a building site. The photos on both the website & booking websites are of picturesque views. There was no warning prior to arrival of the change of outlook, nor did the reception staff discuss the change of outlook, let alone apologise or reduce the room rate. We were expecting to spend time relaxing overlooking the lake on the last leg of our New Zealand travel. It was not only disappointing & deceptive but a rip off at $330 NZ per night.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vaughankate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews