We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Priceline
$125
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$125
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
171
139
28
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
139
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bathroom hostel backpackers tekapo facilities lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2023

Fantastic place to stay in Tekapo for a very comfortable night off the trail. Excellent beds, very clean, well set up kitchen and laundry facilities. Staff friendly and helpful, grounds beautiful. Have stayed here twice now and will return. Kath and Lou

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 705katht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2022

For this style of hostel, it was pretty OK. The ensuite room was a little bit bigger than the double bed. The bed itself was comfortable. The room was clean and tidy.

The communal area was spacious, with lots of room for cooking. There were two big fridges for lodgers to store their perishable goods. They have a system where you put your name, room number and date of departure on your food. We put a pack of smoked salmon and it was still there the next day:-)

It's located within 10 minutes walk from Lake Tekapo and the main restaurants near the lake.

The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 is because they didn't refill the shower gel and shampoo dispenser in the bathroom.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maxxy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

We had a nice stay. It was clean and functional. One reason this place stood out when booking, was the animals around the place. There were only two chickens, which was sad. We don't know what the story is here. The runs are there, just no animals.

Room tip: Wifi is not available in all rooms, but is good in the building with the kitchen and lounge areas in.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nedbedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2021 via mobile

We loved our 3 night stay at Tailor Made.

The animals everywhere around the grounds just made it that much more enjoyable. I thoroughly enjoyed my daily big bunny fix.

We had a double room with shared facilities (that we didn’t share as it was so quiet!). The room was basic but cosy. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and of a much better quality than I’d expect to find in a backpackers accommodation. Lovely hot showers and a heater in the shower room too.

The kitchen was large, tidy and well equipped with plenty of seating areas. We couldn’t fault the cleanliness anywhere - it was done to a high standard.

Another thing we really loved was that the signage around the hostel was subtle. There aren’t posters everywhere telling you to clean up and don’t do this or that, just a few small reminders. On that note, it is not the place to come if you want a party - the building isn’t very noise proof so it much better suits the quieter traveller and therefore, was perfect for us.

Excellent location to town and all the beautiful walks around.

Great work Jovana and Richard.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Jessie1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Thank you so much Jovana and Richard! Wish I could stay longer in your beautiful one of a kind accommodation and have thoroughly enjoyed the one night I did stay with my mate while road tripping on our bikes.

All the best for the future business here and I highly recommend the accommodation to anyone looking to stay in the Makenzie County! And definitely check out the bar and restaurant 'Our Dog Tuesday' for some of the best burgers and beers in town!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank cwi114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews