We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
169
134
28
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
169
134
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen rabbit quiet location homely feel would stay again beds were comfortable hot pools hostel backpackers heater tekapo bunnies facilities lake tennis fireplace benches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Overall an okay place to stay. Kitchen facilities were great. One shower for possibly 10 people. Accommodated our late arrival. Never saw anyone from staff but didn't need to. Price was average. Probably would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank ECfromSA-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Tekapo-NZ, Owner at Tailor Made Tekapo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi, Sorry we didn't get to meet you, but we are glad you found the stay comfortable. There are seperate 10 showers in total, you can try them out next time you stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Great location, excellent value for money, great wifi, free parking & a cosy, homely bedroom, lounge/kitchen & gardens. Very good shower. All staff were very friendly, welcoming & helpful.
A really lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _aljaneinewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

As backpackers, we were torn between the stunning views of the nearby, modern YHA or the lovely cosiness of Tailor Made. Not being able to decide, we ended up booking a night in both! Having experienced time in each, I can honestly say (and my travel companion agrees) that we truly preferred Tailor Made. While it doesn't have the lakeside location of YHA, it all but made up for it with it's lovely staff, spacious dorms (LOVED the lack of bunk beds) and quaint, fairytale-esque gardens. We adored the outdoor area - spending a good amount of time petting the rabbits, enjoying outdoor meals, and even a spot of stargazing. The beds were comfortable, the rooms quiet at night (not to mention ours overlooked the rabbit enclosure - an added bonus), and the kitchen/ bathrooms clean and spacious. Should we find ourselves in the area again, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash009764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

ꀖ ꀖ ꀖ ꀖ

Very cool place. Weather was amazing and hot so we spent a lot of time enjoying the hammacks outside. We even went for a dip in the lake however it was absolutely freezing but worth it for the memories! We arrived in a mini heatwave and had the sun on our window all day which caused it to be unbareably hot and we did not spend much time in there because of that and had a few sleepless nights. A few nice pubs and restuarants around too.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattpowis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

The best things about this place include the spotless room and generous small touches (e.g. lots of hooks and hangers!) The lovely grounds also lift it above the average backpacker lodge, equipped as they are with numerous tables, benches, and a hammock. (Oddly, we didn’t see any of the reportedly resident animals.) My husband took advantage of the two-hour-long stargazing tour offered on a tip-what-you-like basis by local colorful character Billy the Bard, and he found it very well designed and informative.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews