We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HeliServicesNZ Tekapo - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome flight and service

Thank you for giving us an unforgettable flight in this beautiful country. Special thanks for the... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2019
VickyT1823
,
Hong Kong, China
via mobile
Mind. Blown.

My partner and I actually did this trip with the reviewer immediately below, and I wholeheartedly... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2019
KMJUK
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Flying in a Helicopter and landing on Mt. Cook and able to walk around was on my Bucket List. As an adventure, it was beyond anything I have ever experienced. The scenery was awe inspiring surrounded by the snow capped mountains. Standing on Mt. Cook on a beautiful sunny day, sensational. If you are in two minds - go for the thrill of a lifetime and do this trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank circlette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your review circlette00, I believe you were landing on our Mt Joseph when you were doing a 20mins flight.
Yes. it is stunning that you could enjoy the stunning view and Mackenzie area at a higher elevation. Thank you very much for choosing us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

It’s so happy to have second chance to join Helicopter tour service in New zealand.
The weather is wonderful .
The helicopter service is stable.
Pilot is informative and let you know where you are.
The staff of helicopter company is very supportive and friendly ❤️❤️❤️❤️.
Everything is perfect and remarkable for me, it is the best day that I ever have in New zealand.
I will recommend all my friend to try this tour if they come to New zealand .

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank yuuric4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much for your review Yuuri. The weather was good for east coast on your fly day. As most of the bad weather come from the west side of the island. Out pilots are experience in these area as they are local here as well. Thank you again ❤️.for choosing us as your 2nd time for a helicopters ride and please do let your families and friends know we are here in Lake Tekapo. As not many people we can fly from here and save your time and money for travelling to Mt. Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

It was really amazing trip that I ever joined! The views were stunning! Definitely will bring more families & friends to try! Highly recommended to everyone!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review Katherine,
Yes. Thank you for flying with us yesterday and that was really last minute to make the flight happen.
Do share your experience to your friends and families and hopefully will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Why try and get a chopper flight from the Glaciers on the West Coast when you can take off at Lake Tekapo, over the amzing teal lake, fly over Munt Cook the highest mountain and land on the west coast Glaciers.. If you are lucky enough to crack the right day I would tell you this is the best value with most scenic outlooks in NZ

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Casinoshoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

You are absolutely right! Although there is only 20mins flight straight to west coast, there is no road directly from Lake Tekapo to west coast, which you need 6.5 hours driving from one point to the other. it is much more time and cost effective to fly from Lake Tekapo to see Mount Cook and even west coast glaciers (Fox and Franz Josef) instead of driving to there. But of course, weather is always a condition for taking helicopter no matter where you are in New Zealand.
Thank you very much for flying with us and please do share your wise thought to your friends and your family if they are coming to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

After a few failed attempts earlier in the year due to bad weather we decided to try our luck whilst passing through Tekapo. We were not disappointed! Ada and her colleague in the office were fantastic, super friendly, helpful and almost as excited as we were!

We took the 40 minute flight which included a snow landing which was out of this world. Our pilot ensured we had a smooth ride and provided lots of information. The views were purely stunning and we had smiles clued to our faces like small children. Its difficult to find the right words to describe how epic this experience really is. Highly recommended on all counts! Thanks Tekapo Helicopters!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HoolieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you very much for your review!
We are so happy that you could finally fly with us before you heading back to the northern hemisphere.
Thank you for coming back again and fly with us as you know weather is always our enemy for a scenic flight.
we always feel excited as we really want to share this stunning views of mountains to you and other customers.
And surely we know that when you came back from your smiling face after the flight.
we wish you all the best and hope will see you (or with your parents) again when you come to NZ in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews