We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HeliServicesNZ Tekapo - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome flight and service

Thank you for giving us an unforgettable flight in this beautiful country. Special thanks for the... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2019
VickyT1823
,
Hong Kong, China
via mobile
Mind. Blown.

My partner and I actually did this trip with the reviewer immediately below, and I wholeheartedly... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2019
KMJUK
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

My partner and I booked in advance because they can be quite busy. When we turned up at the office the super helpful Dan took our payment and ran us through a safety briefing. He gave us a great insight about the area in and his interests in firewood and artillery. After that we were then driven out to the hangar where our immaculately presented helicopter was awaiting. My wife was estatic. Once on board (this was our first time in a helicopter) it was very smooth and the views were spectacular! We did the number 5 flight and were glad we did as we saw everything there was on offer in the area including Mt Cook and west coast glaciers. We landed in the snow and got some pictures and had a chat to our pilot jeff who pointed out and named mountains and local fauna. On the way back the views of the Mackenzie basin were amazing. I would recommend this trip to anyone as it's the best way to see the mountains and glaciers and a snow landing was a highlight.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank russellcoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you very much Russell.
Yes, Dan is very good knowledge of artillery and he knows this area very well.
We always get compliment from customer saying Jeff is informative and humor. All of our pilots know this area very well.
Glad that you did a 60 mins flight with us as this flight does not always go due we have to fly over to west coast and the weather on the other side is always changeable. Quite a lot of tourist felt disappointment as they could not fly from that side and end up flying with us.
We suggest people plan with the weather forecast for those activities and of course you can suggest your friends to fly with us in Lake Tekapo to minimize the chance of disappointment.
Thank you again for choosing us for your first time of helicopter experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Took the 60 minute flight and it was a trip of a lifetime, we had an amazing pilot called Brooke, He was the best and so knowledgable about the area, the commentary was great and pointed out key things and showed us a great time!! Not to be missed for sure!!The ground staff where awesome as well and very professional and safe!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JohnW10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi John, Thank you for your review.
It is great that you enjoyed your trip, I will surely pass the message to Brooke and all ground staff, and all of our pilots are very experience and know the area very well.
Thank you again for choosing us and hope you will let your friends and relatives know when they come to Lake Tekapo. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We were looking at reviews and also checking out the shops in Franz on the first day of our trip. The weather was changing drastically because they were expecting a cyclone which seems like a pretty regular thing so all flights were cancelled that day. We didn’t want to stay in Franz for another day to wait out and based on the suggestion, we decided to head south and loop back to tekapo on our last few days to try our luck again on helicopter. Both Tekapo Helicopter and Air Safari were our top choices but eventually we went with Tekapo because the lady were very helpful on the phone to make the arrangement for us. Highly recommend to take the grand tour on helicopter just for the experience, don’t go for less :-)

P/S: you can’t bring any bags onto the copters so only a camera with you. They would also try to squeeze in 6 people if there are some folks who are smaller in size so just be aware the space is quite tight and they would rotate you beside front and back seats and shuffle you on the back so it’s not all bad view. Just make sure you speak out or ask for a swap in seating after landing on the pad above the peak.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank tiffanyfriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for choosing us as we always think helicopter is better :) than a fixed wing plane because of the mountain environment in New Zealand.
Yes, we do not allow any bags on board mainly because of the safety and it is hard to find it if you drop something on the snow. Customer can put their personal belongings in the car (as we have our own parking space at the hangar) or in our hangar itself and our staff will take care of them.
Pilot has their discretion for swapping customer also due to the safety (weight and balance) reason, however, we will try our best to let everyone to see the most beautiful part of the scenery.
Thank you again for you review and your picture Tiffany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

What an amazing experience the guys at Tekapo helicopters gave us. From start to finish it was of the utmost professionalism. The views were absolutely stunning also. I can highly recommend a flight .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LennyBlakemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for your compliment, will surely pass the message onto our colleagues.
Thank you for choosing us again.
Please do recommend to your friends and relatives when they are coming to Lake Tekapo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The trip was fantastic. Staff in the town office were very helpful and provide transport to the helipad. The helicopter trip itself was fantastic, unbelievable views of Mt. Cook and the Tasman Glacier. The pilot was really informative and ensured it was an amazing trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank michaeltV6786ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Yes, totally agree with you for the views around Mt. Cook area and the glaciers.
Thank you for flying with us Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews