We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
sueho2017
Altrincham, United Kingdom

Fantastic accommodation and location.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2024
We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Lake Tekapo lodge in March. The accommodation was beautiful, with an amazing view of Lake Tekapo. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning with the other Guests. Stephanie is the most amazing host and provided such useful recommendations for the area and our onward journey. Thank you Simon and Sue.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Simon and Sue. Apologies but only just seen this lovely review. Our gorgeous guests keep on coming! Best, Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $593
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $319
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Nearby church attraction
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $358
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $189
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Lake Tekapo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
235
14
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
14
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand lovely art boutique accommodation perfect hosts breakfast room b and b common room two nights local knowledge two night stay alistair tekapo view lake christchurch doorbell luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

On arrival the host welcomed us so nice. She showed us the very nice and spacious room with a breathtaking view to the lake.
In the morning she made breakfast for the 6 guests. The lodge has only 3 rooms and the 6 guests sit together at a large table overlooking Lake Tekapo. The breakfast was very good with everything you could imagine, eggs, fresh fruit, müsli, joghurt toast.
The host Stephanie provided us with a lot of helpful hints what to do and where to go for lunch or dinner. We definitely will come back.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dieter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Many thanks Dieter and Madeleine. I enjoyed your company. Looking forward to you returning! Best, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Such a marvellous place - Stephanie is so welcoming and patient whilst explaining where everything is. The room is super & bathroom very clean and modern. We stayed all over NZ over a 4 week period and this was easily one of the best B&B's we came across. The residents lounge with wine, beer and reading chairs is a welcome addition that so many other places don't think of. It's a very quick walk into town & to the lake. Breakfast was a joy too.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thank you so much for your kind review. We try to offer what we would hope for when travelling ourselves. So pleased you were happy. Best , Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just reluctantly left Lake Tekapo Lodge after a wonderful two night stay. Our hosts, Stephanie and Alistair were absolutely lovely, welcoming us into their home and making us feel very comfortable from the minute we walked in the door. Lake Tekapo Lodge is beautiful. The room we had was beautifully and comfortably decorated and we had doors leading to a patio area with the most stunning views. We enjoyed sitting there on an evening enjoying the peace and scenery. There is a gorgeous communal lounge with refreshments available which is a really lovely touch. The breakfasts were delicious and we really enjoyed the chats we had with our hosts and other guests at breakfast. This is a beautiful place to stay with extremely friendly, accommodating hosts and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and would hope to get back someday. We loved it here. Thank you Stephanie and Alistair.
Karen and Bruce

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce13S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Kia ora Karen. You must be writing this on the plane! It was an absolute pleasure to have you both stay. We love meeting new people and sharing stories. It enriches our lives. You never know, we might just get to Newcastle next year! Will be watching the TV closely for your big moment x best, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2023 via mobile

Myself and my wife spent two nights at Lake Tekapo Lodge. I can't speak too highly of our stay. Stephanie and her husband provide a superb welcoming environment where within a short time you feel totally at home. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a lovely view from our little terrace. There is a fascinating and eclectic collection of art throughout. Stephanie is extremely helpful with advice on the best local restaurants and options as to how to make the best off your visit. Breakfast was superb . Missing Lake Tekapo already.
Graeme and Irene

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2023

Och Graeme it was a delight to host you and Irene. Many thanks for taking the time to write an endorsement . I suspect you are on your way home by now? Come back soon! It's only the other side of the world...Best Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Absolutely loved our stay with Stephanie at the Lake Tekapo lodge! We were greeted so warmly and shown round the modern, luxurious lodge by the welcoming and helpful Stephanie. The room was gorgeous with a delightful room of the lake, and was nice and warm as it was a cold day. The bathroom was spotless and had kitted out perfectly. The bed and robes were so comfortable. The rooms are all in one wing of the lodge, including a guest lounge with drinks and comfortable sofas for a cosy night in. The breakfast was delicious, with cold yoghurt/fruit/granola as well as cooked breakfast with perfectly poached eggs. Stephanie also gave us really helpful tips of what to get up to while we were there. If you're going to Tekapo stay here if you want a friendly, modern and luxurious trip.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Hagen, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

It was a pleasure to have you stay Philippa. The interesting discussions are my bonus! Many thanks and best, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews