We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This place!”
Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Such a great place to come for either a day trip or a night away ! The tekapo springs is so beautiful especially at night time or when its snowing . Its great in winter time as once you have finished ice skating its a perfect place to warm up .

Thank AylaN_iToursntix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hi AylaN_iToursntix,

Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review of Tekapo Springs! Yes, I totally agree it is beautiful by night and when it's snowing - a truly magical experience.

I'm pleased to hear you liked our combo "skate and soak" pass which is a great way to enjoy all-day/multiple entry hot pools and ice skating between 10am and 9pm.

Kind Regards,
Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice skating"
in 98 reviews
"hot pools"
in 249 reviews
"hot springs"
in 91 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 35 reviews
"snow tubing"
in 50 reviews
"day pass"
in 15 reviews
"plunge pool"
in 12 reviews
"steam room"
in 11 reviews
"water slides"
in 18 reviews
"tube park"
in 12 reviews
"pools of varying temperatures"
in 11 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 9 reviews
"warm water"
in 9 reviews
"after a long day"
in 11 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 9 reviews
"long drive"
in 14 reviews
"school holidays"
in 9 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

We took two families along to Tekapo springs late afternoon/early evening in the winter and enjoyed our visit. There are three main activities. The hot pools themselves, multiple pools of varying temperatures plus an adults only pool. All of which have beautiful views of snowcapped mountains. The ice rink which you can ice skate on and the snow tube which our children enjoyed the best. The snow tube sees you sit on inflatable tubes and slide down an ice covered slope at a pretty decent speed. The pools themselves are a bit pricey in my view at $27 for an adult but $31 for a childrens combo of snow tube plus pools represented pretty good value. We spent three hours here doing those two activities. I would recommend that you book the snow tube as the time slots fill up fast and you take warm clothes including gloves for the snow tube.

Thank FrankRizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hi Frank,

Many thanks for your great review of Tekapo Springs. I'm delighted to hear you had a good time with your family!

Yes, we feel the combo deals have excellent value and I'm pleased you enjoyed the snow tube. It is heaps of fun for everyone! We have implemented a system for the tube: when you book, you choose a time slot between 10am and 6pm which mitigates wait times and ensures everyone gets the most out of their hour.

Warm Regards,
Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We were one of two families which set aside a day to visit Tekapo Springs. We bought the Combo deals and the teenagers started with the ice skating. Ice skating outdoors was a unique experience for them and they enjoyed it, albeit briefly! We all decided to head to the hot spring pools which were warm and relaxing. The views were gorgeous as we had a nice clear winter's day! As the entry passes can be used all day, we all headed into town for lunch and a look around before meeting back for some tubing in the afternoon. The tubing was voted the best, closely followed by the hot springs. The kids and adults had fun tubing individually, as duo's and even as group "trains" of 7+. Definitely recommend a visit here during your stay in Lake Tekapo.

Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hi Esther,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs - I'm really pleased to hear you and your family had a great time!

Yes, our passes are all-day/multiple-entry between 10am and 9pm so I'm glad you took full advantage of them. It sounds like everyone had an awesome time on the snow tube too!

Warm Regards,
Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Great hot pools but at $27 per adult I’d say it’s a little steep. It’s a shame you don’t get a more unobstructed view of the lake and mountains from the adults only pool too.

Rather than paying full price, be sure to google “Tekapo Springs deals” and you can pay as little as $16.

We only stayed about 45 minutes.

Thank LittleKiwiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi LittleKiwiGal,

Thanks for your review of Tekapo Springs.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hot pools!

Regarding the lake and mountain views from our adults-only pool, your outlook varies depending on where you're sitting.

I'm sorry to hear you felt it was expensive and only stayed for 45 minutes. Did you know that a pass to Tekapo Springs allows all-day/multiple-entry between 10am and 9pm? Our pricing is based on this, and we're the only operator of our size to offer this type of pricing in the South Island. We feel that our return entry, with comparable prices to single-entry tickets at other similar attractions, make us good value for money.

Kind Regards,
Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

My wife and I, and my sister and her two kids went to Tekapo Springs and had a nice day. The "Springs" are not thermal pools but they were pleasant on a cool day and we also went Tubing and had a lovely time. It was expected to snow the night before we went and it was cold but we had no snow, One of the other families we met in the pool had told us the last time they went it had snowed and the hot pools being surrounded by snow, looked and "felt" great.

The tubing was fun. I didn't know what to expect but by far the most fun was the duel tubes. The duel tube rides all generated a great deal of laughter and the extra weight of two bodies made the ride fun and fast.

There are nice views of the lake and It is well organized. You can rent a towel for $5 and you can dry your swimmers in dryers in the bathrooms. Unfortunately, the dryer in the Men's change room was not operating the day we went.

The most fun was the tubing and an Uncle having time with his nephews racing down a Tubing slope was memorable.

Thank Robert Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Robert,

Thank you for your review of Tekapo Springs. I'm delighted to hear you and your family had a good day!

Yes, it's true that our water isn't geo-thermal however it does come from an underground source very close to Tekapo and is exceptionally pure. We haven't had much snow on the ground in Tekapo (yet!) but it is a magical experience soaking in the hot pools with snow falling!

I'm pleased that you and your family enjoyed the snow tube - it really is fun for everyone and makes for wonderful memories.

Regarding the dryer in the men's room not working I will pass this on to our maintenance team so they can check on it.

Thanks again for your great review!

Warm Regards,
Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing