We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the hot pools in the evening in late September and can only give it the big thumbs up.
Lying on your back, enjoying the hot water and looking up at the stars....magic
This place is really well worth the visit.

1  Thank NigeeeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi NigeeeeD, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! If you want something extra special, next time your in town join one of our Tekapo Star Gazing tours to learn all about the myth and legend surrounding those stars as well as a darkened environment to even better see the stunning night skies!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Kept the kids amused for hours ...the snow tube is a great addition! Thank you for making a family pass 3 children . ..we don't all have 2 kids as so many passes presume!

Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi Tracey M, thank you for the lovely review! Our family pass is great value for a family of 5, and it sound like your family had a great time here!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Not what we expected. Hot pools - they give the impression that they are real hot pools but they are just swimming pools with hot water in them. The ice rink - the ice was covered in water and the tubing needed far more snow but was ok.

3  Thank Joshtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi Joshtherock, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'real hot pools' - I promise we are not imaginary! I think you might mean thermal pools, naturally heated? We are not thermal and do not advertise ourselves as such. Our water is glacial spring water that is heated on-site using a fantastic and energy-efficient heating/cooling system.

This time of the year our ice rink is in 'spring conditions', meaning that there may be some melt- or rain-water on the surface of the rink due to increasing springs temperatures and the nature of an outdoor rink. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied during your visit, I hope you get the chance to visit us again - maybe a bit earlier in the year to get the full winter experience including some skiing at nearby Roundhill, or in summer to try out our giant Trippo water slide!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a brilliant idea - terraced and beautifully landscaped pools overlooking Lake Tekapo and the mountains. If you stay at the camping ground next door, even better.
I visited with my mum (84) and we loved soaking in the pools. The middle pool has a ramp, which made it easier for mum to get in. I drove up the goods entrance to drop mum just outside the reception - the alternative would have been winding path that would have been tricky for her to climb. It is not well lit at night. So not terribly disability-friendly or accessible.
The facilities give the feeling of having been outgrown by the pool's popularity. On our Saturday afternoon visit, people had left their bags on the benches in the changing room, with no free space at all for mum to sit and get changed. It would be better if people used the lockers (you have to pay) or the cubby holes (free) outside. The next day, it was easier to find space.
You need to shower in the changing rooms before you get in and on our visit, when it was very cold outside, this meant spending a bit of time cold and wet standing on chilly concrete waiting for others to stow their gear and free up the locker machine. It was also very cold underfoot walking across flagstones to get to the pool. Next time I'd bring jandals (flipflops). I'd also consider bringing two towels, so you have a dry towel when you get out of the pool. Ideally, you'd shower poolside and get straight into the hot water.
There was quite loud pop music in the changing room too - not everyone's choice.
Once in the pool, all was well. We enjoyed the international flavour with visitors clearly enjoying the experience too. I'd go again, especially at dusk.
Mum appreciated the ramp leading to the day spa and the lovely manicure from a friendly beautician.
TripAdvisor doesn't have an option for a family visit with an older person - this is what we had.

Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi RosemarieNorth, thank you for the review! Next time you visit us, you are more than welcome to park right in the area where you dropped your mum off - this is our disability parking right next to the building! I'm sure you'll be pleased to know that we do have some changes to the building in the plans, including some improvements to our changing area :)

It sounds like your family had a lovely day, and I hope you get a chance to join us again!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Very disappointed in your guides lack of local knowledge of the sky's considering they were all experts in their field.
Why would I want to hear about Aboriginal navigating history when Māori have a very long, rich and extensive navigating history that is well known.
Most disappointed when the guide knew nothing about Matariki when we were there on the very day/night Matariki started.
And you should have the courtesy to pronounce the place name correctly even if it is a corruption of the true meaning "To leave in haste at night"
Regardless of where your guides are from they are representing NZ and NZ history should be provided to foreign visitors to the these shore, that's one of the reasons they are there. Know your local history and learn correct pronunciation.
Matariki is the Māori name for the cluster of stars also known as the Pleiades. It rises in mid-winter and for many Māori, it heralds the start of a new year. Matariki literally means the 'eyes of god' (mata ariki) or 'little eyes' (mata riki)

Thank tbennett2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi tbennett2007, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While I am disappointed to hear about your experience, I am concerned that you did not come and see us about it at the time. Our tours are ever-changing and developing with our customer feedback (and of course we will take yours into consideration as well), however as a newer business they have already changed a lot since the tour you joined three months ago when Matariki began.

Our tours are a unique storytelling experience that uses comparative mythology to give you a view of the night sky not only from a Māori perspective, but also from that of the ancient Greeks and indigenous Australians. It's a shame to hear that you felt it was too Australia-heavy, however our tours are designed for an international audience and so we simply talk about the mythology surrounding whatever objects are most visible in the sky on the night of the tour regardless of which culture these myths originate from.

Thank you again for taking your time to write to us.

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing