We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pools with growing pains?”
Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a brilliant idea - terraced and beautifully landscaped pools overlooking Lake Tekapo and the mountains. If you stay at the camping ground next door, even better.
I visited with my mum (84) and we loved soaking in the pools. The middle pool has a ramp, which made it easier for mum to get in. I drove up the goods entrance to drop mum just outside the reception - the alternative would have been winding path that would have been tricky for her to climb. It is not well lit at night. So not terribly disability-friendly or accessible.
The facilities give the feeling of having been outgrown by the pool's popularity. On our Saturday afternoon visit, people had left their bags on the benches in the changing room, with no free space at all for mum to sit and get changed. It would be better if people used the lockers (you have to pay) or the cubby holes (free) outside. The next day, it was easier to find space.
You need to shower in the changing rooms before you get in and on our visit, when it was very cold outside, this meant spending a bit of time cold and wet standing on chilly concrete waiting for others to stow their gear and free up the locker machine. It was also very cold underfoot walking across flagstones to get to the pool. Next time I'd bring jandals (flipflops). I'd also consider bringing two towels, so you have a dry towel when you get out of the pool. Ideally, you'd shower poolside and get straight into the hot water.
There was quite loud pop music in the changing room too - not everyone's choice.
Once in the pool, all was well. We enjoyed the international flavour with visitors clearly enjoying the experience too. I'd go again, especially at dusk.
Mum appreciated the ramp leading to the day spa and the lovely manicure from a friendly beautician.
TripAdvisor doesn't have an option for a family visit with an older person - this is what we had.

Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi RosemarieNorth, thank you for the review! Next time you visit us, you are more than welcome to park right in the area where you dropped your mum off - this is our disability parking right next to the building! I'm sure you'll be pleased to know that we do have some changes to the building in the plans, including some improvements to our changing area :)

It sounds like your family had a lovely day, and I hope you get a chance to join us again!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Very disappointed in your guides lack of local knowledge of the sky's considering they were all experts in their field.
Why would I want to hear about Aboriginal navigating history when Māori have a very long, rich and extensive navigating history that is well known.
Most disappointed when the guide knew nothing about Matariki when we were there on the very day/night Matariki started.
And you should have the courtesy to pronounce the place name correctly even if it is a corruption of the true meaning "To leave in haste at night"
Regardless of where your guides are from they are representing NZ and NZ history should be provided to foreign visitors to the these shore, that's one of the reasons they are there. Know your local history and learn correct pronunciation.
Matariki is the Māori name for the cluster of stars also known as the Pleiades. It rises in mid-winter and for many Māori, it heralds the start of a new year. Matariki literally means the 'eyes of god' (mata ariki) or 'little eyes' (mata riki)

Thank tbennett2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi tbennett2007, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While I am disappointed to hear about your experience, I am concerned that you did not come and see us about it at the time. Our tours are ever-changing and developing with our customer feedback (and of course we will take yours into consideration as well), however as a newer business they have already changed a lot since the tour you joined three months ago when Matariki began.

Our tours are a unique storytelling experience that uses comparative mythology to give you a view of the night sky not only from a Māori perspective, but also from that of the ancient Greeks and indigenous Australians. It's a shame to hear that you felt it was too Australia-heavy, however our tours are designed for an international audience and so we simply talk about the mythology surrounding whatever objects are most visible in the sky on the night of the tour regardless of which culture these myths originate from.

Thank you again for taking your time to write to us.

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Visited a quiet sunday evening. Arrived at 8pm to beautifully lit pools. Freezing temps outside so hot pools were amazing. it wasn't the clearest night so not as many stars as usual in Tekapo but it did snow a little which was magical.
Will be returning for sure!

Thank Belén T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi Belén T, thank you for the lovely review! Sounds like you came on a beautiful night to experience the snowy skies of Tekapo, and all the better to see them from the relaxing hot pools!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

LOUD Music destroyed the natural relaxation of soaking under starry skies! My reward for braving messy changing rooms & disgusting toilets. 'Lifeguards' seemed more intent on swinging hammers around than looking after the patrons. Very disappointing. I recommend heading to Hanmer Springs where nature is enough entertainment allowing for romance & relaxation! And the guards take their job seriously!

1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi Angela M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than relaxing, I do hope you mentioned that the volume of the music was too loud during your visit as we are always happy to turn it down on anyone's request. I have taken your review to our Activities Manager to bring to the attention of the lifeguards; while they do take their jobs seriously, they also like to have a bit of fun and I can see how this might look to you the customer.

We have been busy lately with the end of season skiers flocking to the Mackenzie, and I do hope you will give us another chance if you are passing through this way again - maybe you'll find it more peaceful at a different time of year :)

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

After a busy day this is a great place to visit and soak away those aches and pains. Try your hand at skating or luge too and you'll have had a full day of fun and bruises (if you're an amateur like me).

Thank Due_South_Films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Hi Due_South_Films, thank you for the review! Great to hear you had a wonderful day at the Springs, and the hot pools are just the ticket to soak away any aches especially after a day of skiing or snow tubing!

Kind regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing