We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Priceline
$355
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$205
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
greytravellerSydney
Sydney, Australia

Great quiet location close to everything.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2023
The cottages are off a quiet street and very close to the church/dog Statue and swingbridge to town.
Each cottage is individual and has mountain views. We stayed in the Tui Studio cottage which had everything we needed. Quiet location, Nice Queen bed, ensuite bathroom with awesome shower pressure, Milk,tea/coffee provided. A/C and free wifi.
Parking is directly out front. Owner very friendly and helpful.
Would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Lake Tekapo.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: We stayed at the cheapest cottage and it has evrything we needed no need to pay more if available.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$285
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
    $305
0.6 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$406
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $406
  • Vio.com
    $381
  • Expedia.com
    $406
0.2 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Vio.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $218
0.9 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $114
  • Vio.com
    $78
  • Expedia.com
    $107
0.6 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$330
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $330
  • eDreams
    $330
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$299
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
    $304
1.2 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $169
0.3 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$294
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $294
  • Agoda.com
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $300
1.0 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $594
  • Agoda.com
    $521
  • Hotels.com
    $584
0.2 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $159
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Priceline
    $159
1.6 km from Lake Tekapo Cottages
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon cottage great location one night heat pump small kitchenette comfortable stay town centre cooking facilities washing machine rowan potting church shepherd accommodation lake tekapo toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Perfect place to stay! Only steps away from the Good Shepherd church and walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Steve the owner is easy going, super nice and helpful if you have any questions. I stayed in the honeymoon suite, the place is simple but it was very comfortable, fully equipped if you plan on making a few meals and very quiet. I loved waking up the the birds singing. I enjoyed my stay at the cottage. The only thing I missed was that I couldn't set up Netflix on the TV, even on vacation i like a good movie in the evening.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank door2doorwithSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

I was charged twice on my credit card for a 1 night stay
I bought this to their attention
But so far no refund
They don’t answer messages or phone calls
Dishonest
There’s better cheaper honest accomodations in Tekapo
I’d advise anyone to look elsewhere

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderer50649636809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

Quirky cottage with own deck looking at Bush and Apple tree. Birdsong plentiful. Very peaceful.
Our Cottage was The Honeymoon Cottage.
Very friendly host. Close and easy walk to Lake and Township.
On clear nights or early morning the stars are amazing in this area.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roam820248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2023

Handy for Tekapo. The 'Cottage' was functional with en suite, hob, fridge, toaster etc and Stephen the owner? was very approachable. We only booked one night as we were passing through but probably wouldn't stay longer. The whole site is in serious need of investment when viewed against every other accommodation we've stayed at over the last two months touring NZ.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2022

The potting shed room is really tiny. As soon as I walked in, claustrophobia set in and immediately my partner and I realized the standard of this room wasn't what was advertised. It was so old and dirty. The room wasn't prepared when we arrived: the door lock was broken and there was dirt on the thin carpet that was hoovered up there and then with us watching the process. The furniture was tatty. A piece of shabby cloth was covering up a tiny and old two seater. I dreaded to think what was being covered underneath. The bathroom was really a cloak room if not for a 3'x3' shower cubicle added to it. The toilet was dirty that I could not make myself sit on it. There was a musty smell in the room. I'm unfortunately an asthma sufferer and can be very sensitive to smell and dust. The overall compound was messy. The garden was overgrown and untidy. Equipment was strewn here and there. It didn't project that the place was run professionally with regular maintenance and hygiene in mind. We quickly went away and luckily managed to find another place to stay with even a lake view. Overall, we lost roughly £200 for not staying the two nights in the potting shed but the condition was so bad that we couldn't make ourselves sleep there least of all wash and clean in a tiny and dirty cloakroom. (The other place we moved into was only NZ$10 more per night and is directly facing the lake. The room is installed with a new bathroom with a giant bathtub and underfloor heating. It also has a TV. What a big difference with such a small difference in price!)

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tuenm0ngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews