We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$482
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$461
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon cottage great location one night heat pump small kitchenette comfortable stay town centre cooking facilities washing machine rowan potting church shepherd accommodation lake tekapo toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2023

Handy for Tekapo. The 'Cottage' was functional with en suite, hob, fridge, toaster etc and Stephen the owner? was very approachable. We only booked one night as we were passing through but probably wouldn't stay longer. The whole site is in serious need of investment when viewed against every other accommodation we've stayed at over the last two months touring NZ.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2022

The potting shed room is really tiny. As soon as I walked in, claustrophobia set in and immediately my partner and I realized the standard of this room wasn't what was advertised. It was so old and dirty. The room wasn't prepared when we arrived: the door lock was broken and there was dirt on the thin carpet that was hoovered up there and then with us watching the process. The furniture was tatty. A piece of shabby cloth was covering up a tiny and old two seater. I dreaded to think what was being covered underneath. The bathroom was really a cloak room if not for a 3'x3' shower cubicle added to it. The toilet was dirty that I could not make myself sit on it. There was a musty smell in the room. I'm unfortunately an asthma sufferer and can be very sensitive to smell and dust. The overall compound was messy. The garden was overgrown and untidy. Equipment was strewn here and there. It didn't project that the place was run professionally with regular maintenance and hygiene in mind. We quickly went away and luckily managed to find another place to stay with even a lake view. Overall, we lost roughly £200 for not staying the two nights in the potting shed but the condition was so bad that we couldn't make ourselves sleep there least of all wash and clean in a tiny and dirty cloakroom. (The other place we moved into was only NZ$10 more per night and is directly facing the lake. The room is installed with a new bathroom with a giant bathtub and underfloor heating. It also has a TV. What a big difference with such a small difference in price!)

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tuenm0ngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2022

I booked online and it was easy to check-in. We got the Rowan cottage which was located just off the main road.
The cottage was decently sized but there were no doors apart from the bathroom. There were curtains for the two sleeping areas. What was interesting was that the light fixtures didn't have switches but rather a rope to turn them on and off. It did take a while for the air con to start up to heat the unit but once it got going it was fine. There was a small kitchenette but we didn't use it. The lounge was decently sized as was the dining area but again we didn't end up using either for much.
The location was really good, just a stone's throw away from the Church of the Good Shepherd. It did require walking over the bridge to get to the main town area but it was a short and fairly nice walk.
The place was a nice getaway and we were lucky enough to see snow fall around the cottage and deck.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2022

These are old style secluded cottages very close to the waterfront and village attractions. They are all charming, warm and spacious and have been modernised inside with updated kitchen, bathroom and a great washing machine. Recommend.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2022

Functionally, this place worked well for us. It was a little chilly but had a heat pump which solved that issue. It had full cooking facilities and plenty of space and a nice shower. We had comfortable stay. Yes, it's dated, but so am I.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews