We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$350
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Priceline
Hotels.com
$332
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
61
27
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon cottage great location one night heat pump small kitchenette comfortable stay town centre cooking facilities washing machine rowan potting church shepherd accommodation lake tekapo toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2022

These are old style secluded cottages very close to the waterfront and village attractions. They are all charming, warm and spacious and have been modernised inside with updated kitchen, bathroom and a great washing machine. Recommend.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2022

Functionally, this place worked well for us. It was a little chilly but had a heat pump which solved that issue. It had full cooking facilities and plenty of space and a nice shower. We had comfortable stay. Yes, it's dated, but so am I.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

Great location, just a short walk to the church of the good shepherd and a similar length walk over the bridge into the town centre. Cosy rooms once you’ve put the heaters on! The heaters are very effective luckily as it can get pretty cold here. We stayed in the Rowan cottage which had the main cottage and two sleep out style cottages. Worked well for our family.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nzkristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2021

We paid $240 a night for this place. There were 4 of us. We stayed at a cottage right at the back, furthest away from reception, called Rowan cottage.
The place is very run down and in need of up keep. I will advise not to stay at this cottage during winter. They may have other cottages or units that are newer, just make sure you know which you are paying for, if possible. Otherwise, you could find better place to stay around the area for the same price. Great location, but the things is, Tekapo town is not big.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PCadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2020

Accommodation in Lake Tekapo can be expensive. We thought the Lake Tekapo Cottages were good value for money. Location was great, short walk to the Good Shepherd church, Lake Tekapo and the township. Retro style (original) fit out inside the cottage. Plenty of nik nak things in the living area, it felt like someone lives there normally and they literally gave up their house for the night so we could sleep there. I don't know if all of the cottages are like this or how to distinguish the cottage we stayed in from any of the others, other than ours sat way at the back of the property. If you want reasonable price accommodation and its only for one or two nights, Lake Tekapo Cottages are good value.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews