We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Tekapo Adventures tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lake Tekapo
from US$66.53
More Info
from US$1,173.07
More Info
from US$90.34
More Info
from US$115.56
More Info
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road merino sheep kiwi experience valley tour land rover an adventure private tour these guys mackenzie country stunning views mount cook new zealand christina birds vehicle 4wd terrain
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Stunning off road experience,traveled through the real country side beauty of Tekapo. One of the the must do activity in Lake Tekapo

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank EdisonD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYHO2016, Manager at Tekapo Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your feedback ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This was one of the coolest guided tours we've taken. Guides Ben and Cristina have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the mountains and all the wildlife that exists within them. We have definitely come away knowing much more about the Tekapo area. If you want to get the best views Tekapo has to offer and get up close and personal with the mountains, in the comfort of a vehicle, then this is the best way to see the scenery. Our favourite activity in Tekapo for sure! Thanks for being so accommodating with our family.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank gordielees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYHO2016, Manager at Tekapo Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We had a pleasure showing you and your family around on a private tour :) The kids sure loved the mountains and scenery! Hope the new family album turns out great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Want to know the best way to see Tekapo & it’s jaw dropping scenery? Well look no further than these guys! Do yourself a favour for hands down the best activity and fun in Tekapo & MacKenzie district. Tekapo Adventures are the most scenic 4WD tours & have the most informative guides of any of the tours we have taken around NZ. We will most definitely be back to take another tour next time we visit the South Island of New Zealand.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank katesV4911FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYHO2016, Manager at Tekapo Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for joining us! We are so happy you enjoyed our scenic 4WD experience :) Hard not to enjoy all the beauty :)
We look forward to having you on board again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We spent two months traveling around New Zealand, but this is the only day we ventured off track into the less-traveled and unexplored areas of NZ, and it was totally worth it. There is no way we would have (or could have) done this otherwise. Not only would we not know where to go, we wouldn't have the means of getting there. They take you out in Landrovers and do some serious off-roading. It's an adventure!
Cristina and her crew are awesome! They're very kind, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the area in particular and NZ in general.
The weather that day was windy but otherwise perfect. Lake Pukaki is nothing short of spectacular and beyond photogenic. Between the golden fields, the majestic mountains, and the glacial blue lake, even bad photographers can capture a beautiful shot.
At the end of the trip, we stopped by a farm and got to feed and pet a cow, a sheep, a goat, and even a baby deer! It was incredible!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank DaGrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYHO2016, General Manager at Tekapo Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review!
It was lovely to share with you both a slice of NZ Backcountry :)
We very much appreciate you taking the time to review us, and we look forward to seeing some of your awesome pics!
Take care, and keep the great travels moving forward :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We travelled to Tekapo (2 adults, 1 teen) primarily to enjoy our interest in landscapes and photography, so booked this 4WD adventure in order to get off the well-beaten track and venture into places we would not otherwise have access to. We loved it! Cristina was an awesome host: friendly, competent, safety conscious, and great company! We loved exploring the beautiful landscapes of MacKenzie country, lapped up the stunning views, learnt lots about the areas geological features and history, enjoyed yummy baking and a cuppa, had great conversations, and appreciated all the wonderful photo opportunities available on this tour. We would highly recommend to others - if you're a keen photographer like us, or want to get away from swarms of tourists to experience what it's like on a large station, or just want an adventure in a place you can't otherwise visit, then this is the adventure for you!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews