We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MrandMrsOBrien
Dublin, Ireland

Stunning

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2020
This is such a great place to stay when visiting stunning Lake Tekapo. A beautiful bedroom, cozy and comfortable, with fab toiletries. The guest lounge is relaxing and stocked with great NZ wines. The view of the stars at night was great from the garden. Kevin and Jenny are such great hosts - so friendly with loads of great tips for making the most of our trip. I can't recommend Alpine Suites enough - it's like staying with friends
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$579
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $579
1.1 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$177
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$304
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $304
2.1 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$158
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $210
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $279
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $396
  • Expedia.com
    $485
2.0 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nearby church attraction
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $338
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Alpine Suites on Tekapo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Warm, friendly welcome from the owners. Very large, comfortable room with it's own private, outdoor seating area looking towards the lake. A private sitting room for the two guest rooms which includes tea making, biscuits and wine. Parking is off road or on road. It's a short walk to the lake and in to town or a short drive. Lovely breakfast. Wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

so if Lake Tekapo is a jewel in the heart of the South Island of New Zealand , then it follows that our accomodation at Alpine Suites was of diamond quality . This place , and our hosts who made us feel completely at home and relaxed , is probably the most comfortable and well catered place we have ever stayed at . I cannot complement them highly enough on their attention to detail , the cleanliness and friendliness of our hosts .

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank keithcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ASoTNZ, Owner at Alpine Suites on Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Wow, thanks Kieth for your generosity, it really is appreciated.
Warm regards
Kevin & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

What a wonderful place to stay. We were so very sad to leave. Kevin and Jen are the perfect hosts. When I asked if they could recommend a fly fishing guide for my husband Kevin said he loved fishing and he would take him out. They had a ball, despite not catching a thing. They laughed, Kevin had a wee camping stove and cooked whitebait patties and they had a beer. They came back very late and very happy. We feel as if we have made friends for life here and have already started planning our next trip.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ASoTNZ, Owner at Alpine Suites on Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Thank you so much Yvonne for your kind comments.
It was a real pleasure to host you and John.
Warm regards
Kevin & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

There are 35 reviews on TA about this property and all have given it Five stars. We recently stayed here for 2 nights and completely agree. Alpine Suites is outstanding in every way. Its a 2 min drive from Tekapo town centre.

Its like a hybrid between a pure B&B and an upscale hotel, with the guests getting the best of both worlds.

I was surprised to know that the hosts have no formal training in the hospitality industry because everything that they do is with such great panache. Kevin is also a great photographer as every guest will discover.

The setup is like 2 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms and a shared lounge (shared only with other guests) with great views of the lake & mountains. All amenities provided including a complimentary mini bar in the lounge. Both rooms identical in every way.

As most reviewers have commented the breakfast is a highlight with great presentation, choices of cooked items and the “worlds best hash browns” !!

One suggestion here - if you find the price a little high, still go for it. Save that $100 odd in your other NZ trip accommodation, if you must. You won’t regret it at all and this stay will be the most memorable stay of your NZ holiday. Trust me!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank passportofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ASoTNZ, Owner at Alpine Suites on Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Amazing review, thank you so much.
All the best for 2020
Warm regards
Kevin & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

We spent a couple of nights in this fabulous B&B. The host are exceptional in their welcome and we were delighted to have such excellent recommendations of walks, visits and places to eat. The breakfasts are some of the best we’ve had, the bed comfy and the room very quiet. The lounge, with views over the lake, is a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine. Kevin and Jen have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into providing the best experience for their guests and appear to love doing so.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank surreymumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ASoTNZ, Owner at Alpine Suites on Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Great review, thank you, Jenny and I really appreciate it.
All the best for 2020
Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews