We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$177
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Hotels.com
$177
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$147
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jay_BKK
Ankara, Türkiye

Lovely location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2024
We spent two nights here in a private cabin, which shared bathrooms with the campsite. The cabin itself was functional - clean and comfortable, just as expected. The bathrooms were modern and clean. It was very busy, during the NY period, and had a nice international vibe to the place. We didn't cook there, but the kitchens were good. Lovely lakeside location with a beautiful view. Easy 15-20min stroll into town.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Hi Jay,
Thank you so much, appreciate your review. Glad you found our standard cabins clean and comfortable, they are perfect for the more budget conscious traveler. We do also enjoy the business around NY, although the camp gets very busy you meet so many people from around the world! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Cheers
Lydia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $218
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    $218
0.7 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$224
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
1.1 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$299
  • Expedia.com
    $304
  • Agoda.com
    $264
  • Hotels.com
    $304
0.5 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$525
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $485
  • Agoda.com
    $394
  • Hotels.com
    $485
0.6 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$475
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $583
  • Hotels.com
    $594
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$284
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $284
  • ZenHotels.com
    $280
  • Hotels.com
    $284
1.8 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$172
  • Hotels.com
    $172
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Nearby church attraction
Booking.com
$350
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $337
  • Agoda.com
    $289
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $151
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Booking.com
$330
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $330
2.4 km from Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
618
461
304
164
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
618
461
304
164
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powered site hot pools ensuite cabin camper van kiwi bach hot springs tekapo springs shared facilities bbq area communal kitchen great facilities mt john overlooking the lake beautiful spot camping ground bunk beds amazing views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

At midnight a staff member knocked loudly on our door demanding that we show him our key. No explanation was provided. No identification was provided and no apology was provided for waking us.

Next door cabin lodger attempted to get into our cabin with his key at around 11pm and was able to do so therefore cabin was not secure.

We were unable to get any sleep after these incidents. We were distressed by these two events.

No response to email sent requesting explanation.

Room tip: Don’t stay at this venue
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi Jane
We sincerely apologize for the stress and worry this caused you while staying with us. We have lots of new staff on reception who are still in training which is why this rare error may have occurred, but this does not excuse the situation so we have spoke to all the staff involved to ensure it does not happen again. I know the manager has been in contact with you already and offered you a refund for the inconvenience.
Kind regards
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Amazing location but don’t stay if you like sleep. Doors bang all through the night and shudder the walls in your room. This is where Kiwi Express bus stays so can be very crowded. Booked for 2 nights but needed to sleep so only stayed one night.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 709natb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi!
Appreciate you taking the time to leave a review with your feedback about Lakes Edge Lodge. Appreciate it can be very busy this time of year, with or without the Kiwi Experience bus! I do apologise for the lack of sleep you experienced, that must of been very frustrating.
The doors for the rooms are fire doors to be compliant for health and safety, but they are heavy. We will be looking to see how we can improve our guests experience in the coming months. Thanks again and I am sorry for the issues you had with us.
Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Lakes Edge could be an amazing place, the site is one of the best we’ve stayed at. It doesn’t reach its full potential though. The tent sites are a dustbowl and all squeezed together with big campervans. Stayed here two years ago and I was excited to see how much had been done since. Unfortunately pretty much nothing. Watering the lawns of each site between people checking out and the next lot checking in would be a great start. The bathrooms are nice but also could do with an update. Hanmer Springs wins here, theirs are amazing.
I found the WIFI pretty good.
Reception is too far away also.
Overall, would stay again but would love to see some care and improvements done.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jscba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi there!
Thank you for your review and feedback. Happy to hear you are a return visitor! We have been extremely busy with constant check ins and check outs but will be scheduling in watering ASAP for all our grass sites. Having not much rain this summer season hasn't helped!
Both our amenities blocks are pretty new but we will be looking to make some more improvements in the near future. Glad to hear the Wifi was working for you during your stay. We also have plans to move the reception area much closer to the entrance of the camp in the near future - watch this space! I hope next time you come you can see the many improvement we wish to make in the next couple of years. Thanks again!
Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

This was the noisiest holiday park we stayed at anywhere in NZ while campervanning around. The amenities are nice & new and there is a nice view of the lake from SOME spots. The Wi-Fi is very slow. There are timers on the showers and it was expensive to stay here. The music in the shower is the best thing at this place

Room tip: If you have a campervan & you wish to free camp, do it at Lake Pukaki. No free camping at Tekapo.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi TravelDooey!

Appreciate your review and feedback. We try to have as many sites possible with Lakeview, or at least partial Lakeview, but due to the layout of the camp it is impossible to have this for every site. The best chance you have is to book months ahead, especially at this time of year. We are trying to upgrade/expand our WiFi so that it is faster during our peak times, appreciate this can be frustrating. Glad you enjoyed the music up at the amenities, definitely makes showering/cooking more enjoyable!

Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2023

Lakes Edge Holiday Park just situated beside Tekapo Lake, the lake view was really great and beautiful. If you selected to this park then you may also enjoy a very stunning night view. This park was good with well-equipped amenities, good to stay here for a night.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lydia Hughes, Marketing at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Thank you so much! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back here one day.
Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews