We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget your camera and enjoy the amazing scenery from the plane.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't forget your camera and enjoy the amazing scenery from the plane.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Air Safari over Lake Tekapo was absolutely amazing. We were lucky to have crystal clear weather that day and photos just don't do it any justice. You have to see it yourself to enjoy the experience. Highly recommended for everyone.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank chris_sharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    10
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clear Weather Awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

I understand that clouds happen, but it was not on this day. This is a must do if the weather is clear. I have heard that multiple times, but I wholeheartedly agree.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank bsum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Grand Traverse is a Superb Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017

Air Safaris' Grand Traverse (a one hour flight) is a superb experience! The booking, 'check in', and flight arrangements were all dead easy, friendly and efficient, and the aeroplanes ideal - high wings, large windows, single seat rows meant everyone got a good view, and our pilot (Joe) made sure he passed the main sights 'left and right' to ensure all passengers got the views and photo-ops. The running commentary was also good and informative. I've been on helicopter flights before, and by comparison to Air Safaris they are too short, too noisy, and so much more expensive... take the plane!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Susan_C_SN5109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't bank on this!! Only 10% work. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This sounds like a great trip but it rarely works. We did not get to fly and understand less than 10% of flights take place due to weather conditions. You need to make sure you have an alternative plan to see what you want to see . We tried for 3 days and no flights . We were told they had only flown on 4 of the last 40 days !

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Hi Andy H,

We are very sorry you didn’t get to experience our “Grand Traverse” flight; it is a real highlight for people visiting N.Z. I can understand your disappointment with the weather around Mount Cook.

I am very concerned that you have somehow misinterpreted information on the days we operate. In a typical summer we can fly on up to 90% of the days.
This summer has been challenging with the weather across N.Z. but, despite this less than average weather, looking back over the last 40 days we have flown on 30 or more days – in fact the “Grand Traverse” has the best reliability of operation of any aerial activity in the region.

We always need to ensure conditions are safe and scenic for conducting flights.
We operate from a number of different bases and are very flexible around the weather, there is also no charge for any flights that are cancelled due to weather.

Our booking records showed your original internet booking at 9.00am was delayed until 2.00pm the same day due to high winds and cloud. You decided to leave at lunchtime to continue your journey and not wait for an improvement in the weather – our flights recommenced at 1.45pm that afternoon.
We did not have 3 days where we could not fly during that period and I am not sure why you chose not to join our flights later in the day or our flights on the following day if you were in fact staying in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Do yourselves a favour and book this flight. Our pilot Matt was great with running commentary. Day was perfect

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing