We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Truly Incredible Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Truly Incredible Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

We arranged our Air Safari months in advance as we would be visiting New Zealand from San Francisco. The day we were scheduled to go on our Air Safari, the weather was not cooperating. The fine folks at the Air Safari office suggested we check back later in the day. When we checked back, there were still storms on the way and we weren't able to do our air safari as planned, but they did offer an alternate experience. Tim Rayward took us up in a helicopter (just not as high as the Cessna would've been able to go). We landed at a high point, took in the incredible views, and learned about the area and it's history. Tim is a really nice guy and an awesome pilot. Thanks Tim!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank THSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi THSF,

Sorry that the weather wasn't the greatest on your day of arrival! It has been a little challaging this season, especially more so for the pilots wanting to get up in the air to share the experience with people like yourself.

We do try our best to accomodate.. were glad it payed off and you enjoyed the flight!

Thanks so much for your review we do appreciate it.

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing flight!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

The Grand Traverse is a real winner. It's a one-hour flight up Lake Tekapo across the Divide to the West Coast to see Fox, Franz Josef and Tasman glaciers, then around Mt. Cook and other peaks and across the valleys and rivers to home.

High winds, clouds and rain had prevented most flights for several months when we arrived. Fortunately, on the morning of the day we left, the heavens cleared.and the 9 am flight took off with me on-board. They even picked me up at my hotel in Lake Tekapo. Great pilot. I got to play co-pilot and shot a lot of great photos.

Ride was incredibly smooth with minimal turbulence. I highly recommend flying over and around mountains to add another incredible dimension to experiencing the Southern Alps .

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Silverstreak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Silvestreak46,

Thanks a lot for your review!

We're pleased you enjoyed your flight with us and your overall experience of the Southern Alps was incredible.

Have a great day.

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

This adventure gave me the best views of all the trips that I took while in New Zealand. While staying in Lake Tekapo, I decided to try this and am I glad I did. The pilot (Tom) gave us a great view of Mt Cook as well as the glaciers surrounding it. We did a complete fly around Mt. Cook and he took the time to point out lots of impressive images for us to photograph.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Zalster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Zalster,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and share your experience with others, we do appreciate it!

Seems like you enjoyed your flight with us which is great we do aim to show as much as we possibly can making sure people do get some great shots and memories of our beautiful mountains.

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Although this is a rather expensive it is worth every cent. We have booked a tour earlier in the week at the Franz Josef Glacier, but this trip was canceled due to bad weather. Arriving at Lake Tepako, we dropped in a few hours early in order to see if our booking for 4 pm was still going. It turned out that the weather was getting bad, so the flight we had originally booked most likely would not go. They offered us to go on a helicopter tour instead. We were just the two of us in the helicopter that took us over the mountain ranges for almost 1 hour. Our pilot and guide was just amazing. This is an Adventure to remember

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank docamm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Docamm24,

Thank you for your review!

We apologise about the weather this years summer hasn't been the one we expected or are used to! but it does seem to be picking up now which is great for us.

We do aim to keep our helicopter flight a bit more personal which can make it the perfect special experience, were glad that you were able to do the tour and it was one to remember.

Thank you again!

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

My husband and I got married in Tekapo on new years 2016 and rented a helicopter to get some wedding photos. It was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend other couples to do this! My parents also went on a separate helicopter ride to the glaciers and said it was one of the most incredible places they've ever been!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank RA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Ra L,

Thank you for your review!

We're glad we could help out on your big day, so thank you again for flying with us.

We hope you got all beautiful shots you wished for.

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing