We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2017

This adventure gave me the best views of all the trips that I took while in New Zealand. While staying in Lake Tekapo, I decided to try this and am I glad I did. The pilot (Tom) gave us a great view of Mt Cook as well as the glaciers surrounding it. We did a complete fly around Mt. Cook and he took the time to point out lots of impressive images for us to photograph.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Zalster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Zalster,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and share your experience with others, we do appreciate it!

Seems like you enjoyed your flight with us which is great we do aim to show as much as we possibly can making sure people do get some great shots and memories of our beautiful mountains.

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    10
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Although this is a rather expensive it is worth every cent. We have booked a tour earlier in the week at the Franz Josef Glacier, but this trip was canceled due to bad weather. Arriving at Lake Tepako, we dropped in a few hours early in order to see if our booking for 4 pm was still going. It turned out that the weather was getting bad, so the flight we had originally booked most likely would not go. They offered us to go on a helicopter tour instead. We were just the two of us in the helicopter that took us over the mountain ranges for almost 1 hour. Our pilot and guide was just amazing. This is an Adventure to remember

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank docamm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Docamm24,

Thank you for your review!

We apologise about the weather this years summer hasn't been the one we expected or are used to! but it does seem to be picking up now which is great for us.

We do aim to keep our helicopter flight a bit more personal which can make it the perfect special experience, were glad that you were able to do the tour and it was one to remember.

Thank you again!

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My husband and I got married in Tekapo on new years 2016 and rented a helicopter to get some wedding photos. It was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend other couples to do this! My parents also went on a separate helicopter ride to the glaciers and said it was one of the most incredible places they've ever been!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank RA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Hi Ra L,

Thank you for your review!

We're glad we could help out on your big day, so thank you again for flying with us.

We hope you got all beautiful shots you wished for.

Have a great day :)

Kind Regards,

Air Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, Surrey uk
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Save your dollars for this experience!”
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was the most amazing experience, up there with sky diving in Abel Tasman. Was expecting a pretty flight up to see Mt Cook but it was so much more. Pilot Tom loves his job and sharing his knowledge of the geography of this fascinating area, I felt like signing up for a geology degree after this trip. Views are out of this world, it felt a privilege to be blessed to see the sights we did!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneReigate_Surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 6 Contributor
1,095 reviews
746 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We had driven to Lake Tekapo from the west coast of South Island and called in to view both Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. At the standard viewpoints the views are anything but impressive and this is because of the massive level of glacial retreat. Having seen these iconic glaciers we were uncertain whether a flight would add that much. But it was just wow up there. The views are awesome and it was just incredible to see the full length of the glaciers.

The flight was smooth, the pilot's commentary perfect - informative but not intrusive - and the views and photographic opportunities out of the window during our 50 minute flight truly breathtaking.

If you want a truly memorable experience and are in the Lake Tekapo area then this really is a must do trip. Brilliant company, flight and experience.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing